Skip to main content

Special Collections - Local History Sources: Home

A guide to the Local History sources found in Special Collections.

Search

Search Special Collections and College Archives

 

 

(Refresh your browser if you don't see the Search Box)

GettDigital

The Gettysburg Postcard Collection presents vintage postcards depicting views of the Gettysburg College and Gettysburg Seminary campuses as well as images of the town and Battlefield.

 

Historic Gettysburg College
A digital archive featuring materials of intellectual and cultural significance to the Gettysburg College Community: Historic Photographs, Manuscripts, Artifacts & Memorabilia and Publications.

 

Gettysburg Sanborn Maps
A collection of the the Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of Gettysburg in 1924. The map is divided into 17 numbered sheets. The collection is missing map sheet 14.

 

GettDigital Collections

Local History in Special Collections: Suggested Materials

Special Collections maintains a variety of materials a researcher in Local History might want to investigate:

Manuscript Collections pertaining to Local History

The Oral History Collection includes interviews pertaining to Local History:

  • Adams County during World War II
  • Lincoln Highway (U.S. Route 30)

Consult an archivist for assistance with these items.

Locating Items

Published Materials:

Check MUSCAT Plus.

  • Special Collections stacks are closed. To acquire an item, make a request at the reference desk in the Special Collections Reading Room.
  • Some materials may be found in the main stacks and can circulate.

Non-published Materials:

Include photographs, maps, ephemera, and manuscripts housed in Special Collections.

These items do not circulate and are available only in Special Collections.

Consult an archivist for assistance with non-published materials.

Subject Guide

Special Collections Guides's picture
Special Collections Guides
Contact:
Special Collections & College Archives Musselman Library
Gettysburg College
Box 420
300 N. Washington Street
Gettysburg, PA 17325

717-337-7002 Director
717-337-7006 Archivist
Website

Questions?

Ask an Archivist

Special Collections Reading Room Hours

(Musselman Library, 4th Floor)

When classes are in session

Mon, Thurs, Fri : 1 - 5 PM
Tues, Wed : 1 - 5  and 6 - 9 PM

Summer 

Open for exhibits Wed, Thurs, Fri: 1-4 PM

Other times by appointment only

 Special Collections Rules of Use