Special Collections - Vietnam War Sources: Select Manuscripts & Files

Fulton, Leonard. Letters to Mr. Fulton of El Cerrito, CA from four political figures in DC, PA, NH, and CA. Mr. Fulton was expressing his concern over the impending war with Vietnam. 21 Nov. 1962 - 23 Sept. 1963. TLS-8pp. VFM-54

Hedrick, David, Papers on the Stephen H. Warner Exhibit. Former Head of Special Collections, David Hedrick, created these papers during the planning and execution of the Stephen Warner Exhibit. MS-054

Mock, Colonel Alfred J. Chief Information Officer in Vietnam and Stephen Warner's (Gettysburg College, Class of 1968) superior officer. Biographical sketch of Colonel Mock. TD-4pp. Letters to Mock from Mrs. Esther Warner and Martin Gershen. n.d. TLS-3pp. Letter from Mock to Special Collections Librarian David Hedrick. 21 Jan. 1994. ALS-2pp. Photographs. n.d. VFM-209

Moore, Richard. War Correspondent in Vietnam. Letters to his wife, Claire, during the Vietnam War. Mentions Stephen Warner in two correspondences. 3 Sept. 1969 - 28 Feb. 1971. TLS & ALS. Also includes miscellaneous news reports, correspondence, and photographs. MS-051

Radical Pamphlets, 1965-1975. Consists of pamphlets on topics such as labor, women's rights, communism, ecology, racism, and poverty. Also features papers, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and pamphlets on the Peace Movement in the United States during the Vietnam War. MS-036

Stemen, John Roger. Letters from Stephen Warner, Class of 1968. 11 Aug 1969 - 12 Oct 1970. TLS-11pp. Also includes publications by the Central Committee for Conscientious Objectors (of the Vietnam War). VFM-208

Vannorsdall, John W. Papers. College Chaplain, 1962 - 1976. MS-069

"Vietnam, 10 Years After" 1985 - 1986. An Emerging American Identity and the Vietnam Veterans conference held at Gettysburg College. A collection of signed letters from Vietnam Veterans, newspaper articles, planning committee correspondence, and brochures. ALS-120pp. VFM-302

Warner, Stephen H. Memorial Fund. Memorandums. 1 Nov. 1971 - 27 Mar. 1972, TDS-3pp. Correspondence between Mrs. Esther Warner and Robert Butler, Director of Development at Gettysburg College. 6 Mar. 1972 - 22 Mar. 1972, TL and TLS-4pp. Newspaper clippings regarding the Warner Papers. 25 Mar. 1972 and 24 Sept. 1980, 2pp. VFM-210

Warner, Stephen H. Southeast Asia Photograph Collection. Photographs, negatives, manuscripts, drafts of articles, and army publications comprise the bulk of this collection. See the inventory for a complete discussion of its scope and content. MS-044. In addition, our collections hold Arthur J. Amchan's Killed in Action: The Life and Times of SP4 Stephen H. Warner, Draftee, Journalist, and Anti-War Activist (DS559.5 .A46 2003).

Warner Committee Papers. The committee, formed largely through Professor John Roger Stemen's efforts in 1972, intended to encourage a spirit of debate and intellectualism within the Gettysburg College community. Includes materials on the "Warner Forum," which were panel talks that addressed popular issues, as well as renovation proposals to the College Union Building. Correspondence also comprises this small collection: 8 June 1972 - 18 Apr. 1978. TLS-24pp. MS-052

Willner, Jan. "Reminiscences of Steve Warner and life with his family in 1963/64" ca. 2004. 1 D-3pp. Also includes e-mail from Arthur Amchan to Karen Drickamer regarding recollections. 16 Dec. 2004. D-1p. VFM-258

Researchers may wish to consult the following subject files:

• Vietnam, 10 Years After
• Area Studies Symposium
• Warner, Steve, 1946-1977
• Vietnam Wall
• EATSIT (a protest-oriented student publication)

Keep in mind that these are a few suggestions, but not an exhaustive list.  Consult an archivist for assistance or additional suggestions.