Research Guides: Economics: Home

Economics Databases

EconLit This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of journals, books and dissertations in economics literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature, EconLit covers both economic theory and application and indexes over 1,000 journals. 1969 – present.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to and many full text articles about business, management, economics, banking, finance, and accounting from 1985-present.
NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text of NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research) papers published from 1998-present.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources updated daily, 1900-present. Coverage is very strong for sciences, strong for social sciences, and growing for arts & humanities.

Google Scholar

Other Economics Research Tools

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. Content covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.

Concise Encyclopedia of Economics
Freely available website which features easy-to-read articles by over 150 top economists, including Nobel Prize winners, over 80 biographies of famous economists, and many tables and charts illustrating economics in action.
Financial Times
Publishes a unique blend of business, political and cultural news that has made it the dominant English-language business newspaper of Europe.
WorldCat
Provides citations to books & other materials owned by over 10,000 libraries around the world (subject matter covers material from all time periods). Use to locate items that Musselman Library does not own.
Council of Economic Advisors
Speeches, testimony, fact sheets, reports and more from the CEA which is charged with studying the economy and recommending policy to the US president.

Data and Statistical Sources

Asia and the Pacific - Key Indicators
Yearly reports with the latest available economic, financial, social, and environmental indicators for the 49 regional members of the Asian Development Bank.
College Scorecard
Find information about tuition rates, graduation rates, and salary after graduation for U.S. schools.
Data and Statistics - Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Provides data on delinquency rates, housing prices, and general economic indicators in chart form and via interactive maps.

Data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
Access tables, maps, and datasets from the US Census Bureau. The earliest data begins with the 2000 Census. Includes data that was included in the American FactFinder.
Historical Statistics of the US This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 37,000 data series of quantitative historical information covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations from the earliest times to the present.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), the world's largest archive of digital social science data. Years of coverage: varies by dataset.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS)
Create custom data sets based on U.S. and international census and survey data from 1790 - present. Variables are harmonized across data sets to facilitate comparison across otherwise disparate information.
International Data Base
Provides population and economic data, country rankings, health reports and source information, plus demographic and socioeconomic analysis for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more.

International Debt Statistics This link opens in a new window
International Debt Statistics (IDS)—formerly known as Global Development Finance (GDF)—provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS), 1970-present (where data is available).
International Financial Statistics from the IMF This link opens in a new window
Provides approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries starting in 1948. Includes exchange rates, Fund accounts and the main global and country economic indicators. 5 users.

KOF Index of Globalization
The KOF Index of Globalization measures the three main dimensions of globalization: economic, social, and political. Data are available on a yearly basis for 158 countries from 2012 to the present. The Index - De Facto interactive chart/map covers 1970 to 3 years ago.
National Accounts Statistics
A series of analytical national accounts tables for over 200 countries. Prepared by the United Nations, each yearly publication includes two sections: a collection of main aggregates and detailed tables and a complementary analysis of main aggregates.
OECD Data Explorer
Data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies. New platform replaces OECD.Stat as of June 12, 2024.
OECD.Stat
OECD.Stat includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies. Statistics include GDP, employment, income, population, education, labor, trade, finance and more.
Penn World Table
This table provides information on relative levels of income, output, input, and productivity, covering 182 countries between 1950 and 2014.

Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window
Roper iPoll is a large collection of poll data, covering 1935 to the present, from U.S. and international polling firms with broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. Content includes polling questions, charts, demographic crosstabs, and datasets.
World Bank Data: World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
Provides over 550 development indicators with time series for 207 countries and 18 country groups, 1960-present (where data is available).

World Bank - World Development Reports
Each year World Bank publishes a report focusing on a specific theme. These themes cover a wide spectrum of information including technological impacts on work, education, policy design and implementation, risk management, etc.
World Economic Situation and Prospects (monthly)
Monthly briefings published by the United Nations that contribute to the yearly WESP report. The yearly report charts global economic trends in order to predict future outcomes.
World Economic Situation and Prospects (yearly)
A yearly United Nations publication that charts global economic trends in order to predict future outcomes.

Citing Your Sources

The Department of Economics accepts any commonly used citation style. See the library's Citation Guide for resources about citation styles.

If you are interested in tools for citation management and citation building, check out these guides for Zotero and RefWorks. You can also use NC State's citation builder for APA, MLA, Chicago (author-date), and CSE/CBE (author-date).