Public History: Local History

A comprehensive collection of primary and secondary source material that includes county records, manuscript collections, photographs and media, artifacts, and compiled research.

Search or browse the over 40,000 item collection of the Gettysburg National Military Park Museum.

Full text of county histories published prior to 1900. Topics include: local history, transportation, participation in the Revolutionary and Civil Wars, industry & manufacturing, family history, health & vital statistics, and public officials & legislator available via Accessible Archives.

This digital collection contains Gettysburg College's Special Collections holdings for the Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of Gettysburg in 1924. The Sanborn maps are part of the Map Collection at Gettysburg College housed in Special Collections. The Sanborn Map Collection is limited to campus use only.

Located in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, the Adams County Historical Society (ACHS) preserves over three centuries of remarkable local history in one of our nation's most historic settings. ACHS educates and inspires the community about its past, present, and future.

The home and farm of General and President Dwight D. Eisenhower.

Civil War battlefield preservation organization founded in 1959. The GBPA has purchased and donated several hundred acres of land to the Gettysburg National Military Park.

The Gettysburg Black History Museum will showcase the challenges and life experiences of Black people who lived in and fled through Gettysburg on their way north in search of freedom. The museum will also exemplify the Black peoples’ commitment to their faith and community which enabled them to not only persevere but to add significant contributions towards America’s well being.

The Heritage Center presents the Battle of Gettysburg from two unique perspectives – the civilians who lived in the town of Gettysburg, and the soldiers on the battlefield.

National Park Service administered battlefield preservation and interpretation of the Battle of Gettysburg and its commemoration.

Gettysburg National Military Park maintains a library of books and manuscripts relative to the American Civil War, the Gettysburg Campaign, dedication of the Soldiers' National Cemetery, and the development, interpretation, and administration of Gettysburg National Military Park. Library holdings include books, bound volumes, vertical files, manuscripts, limited photographs, maps, microfilm and audio-visual materials. Within our collection are a number of rare first edition regimental histories, campaign studies, and memoirs.

A shrine to Jennie and to life during the American Civil War.

Seminary Ridge Museum and Education Center, is located on Seminary Ridge. Exhibits connect individuals and groups to the dilemmas which led to the Civil War, provide a powerful and personal view of the battle's first day, and show the work of one of the battlefield's largest field hospitals.

Restored home of George and Hettie Shriver, located on Baltimore Street. The museum tells the story of family life in the 1860s and the civilian experience of the Battle of Gettysburg,

Part of the Army War College in Carlisle, PA and open to the public, AHEC maintains the knowledge repositories that support scholarship and research about the U.S. Army and its operating environment.