Skip to Main Content

Special Collections and College Archives: Planning Your Visit

New to Special Collections and College Archives? Explore this page for a brief introduction!

What to Expect

Welcome to the Reading Room!

This space is considered a secure area and will be locked at the time of your arrival. Because of the nature of our collections, our materials are not available to browse nor do they circulate, so all research must be done in the Reading Room. To ensure enduring access to these collections, Special Collections and College Archives offers some guidelines to assist you:

  1. We have an entrance coatroom with secured lockers for you to store your belongings while you use the Reading Room. All coats, bags, briefcases, and umbrellas should be left in these lockers or the adjoining closet. 
  2. No food or drinks are permitted.
  3. Due to the delicate nature of our materials, pens are not allowed in the Reading Room, but we have plenty of pencils for researchers to borrow. Please bring or borrow a pencil and paper or your laptop, cell phone, or camera to take notes. 
  4. We ask that all researchers register in the Reading Room and present their photo ID upon arrival.

 

Special Collections and College Archives staff will be happy to assist you with your research. You can plan ahead for your visit by emailing us or giving us a call to discuss your interests. Some collections are stored off-site, so this will enable us to pull materials in advance and to prepare.

Where are we located?

The Special Collections and College Archives are located on the fourth level of Musselman Library, on the Gettysburg College Campus. For more information on the library's location, please click through to the Directions and Parking page. 

Hours

During the academic year, we are open during the following hours, as well as by appointment:

Monday 1-5 pm
Tuesday 1-5 pm & 6-9 pm
Wednesday 1-5 pm & 6-9 pm
Thursday 1-5 pm
Friday 1-5 pm