Special Collections - Black Experience

A Manuscript Collection is a grouping of materials which focuses on an individual, group of people, or organization. Materials can include letters, diaries, photographs, scrapbooks, and other memorabilia. Processed Manuscripts are stored in Special Collection's closed stacks and can be requested at the Reference Desk in our Reading Room.

Browse Finding Aids for the Manuscript Collections

• Radical Pamphlets, 1965-1975. MS-036
  • The first part of this collection consists of pamphlets on broad topics such as labor, communism, ecology, poverty, racism and women's rights. The second part on the Peace Movement, consisting of pamphlets, papers, newspaper clippings and correspondence dealing with the Vietnam Conflict and Peace Movement in the United States compiled by David Mozes, a friend of Nancy and Jim Scott, and Michael J. Hobor, Class of 1969.

The Gettysburg College Oral History Collection consists of transcripts (and, in some cases, sound recordings) of interviews documenting Gettysburg College, World War II, the Vietnam War, and the Lutheran Theological Seminary at Gettysburg. The Vietnam War Oral History Project compiles oral histories of those who served in the Vietnam War. These transcripts can be found in-person in the Special Collections Reading Room and virtually on GettDigital.

Browse the Vietnam War Oral History Project

Browse all Oral Histories on GettDigital

• Marvin Groce, Vietnam-era African American Soldiers. SPOV-088
  • The Marvin Groce Collection consists of a single photo album documenting his time on the military base, during the Vietnam War in August 1972; the photographs are suspected to be set in Vietnam. The album contains 45 black and white gelatin photographs measuring 3.5” x 5”, the photographs are glued to black craft paper with a couple of the pages missing. The pictures are candid pictures that feature Groce’s colleagues on their down time or working at the base, only a few of the pictures feature Marvin Groce himself; only 6 pictures show military vehicles and/or military helicopters as well as military personnel. There is a single color photograph in the album, glued to the back of the front cover, it is a candid picture of Groce.