African Repository, 1826-1892
Microfiche E448 .A25
Note: The African Repository was the official journal of the American Colonization Society and the oldest and longest running of all of the colonization newspapers. It served as the Society's propaganda paper by publishing letters from former slaves and blacks that had settled in Liberia that positively reflected the Society's objectives.
Anti-Slavery Reporter, 1840-1908
Microfiche E185.5 .N385 Anti
Note: Also published under the names The British and Foreign Anti-Slavery Reporter and The Anit-Slavery Reporter. Published in London, England by the Anti-Slavery and Aborigines Protection Society.
Douglass' Monthly, 1859-1863
Microfiche E185.5 .N385 Doug
Note: Originally founded in Rochester, NY in 1847 under the name North Star. Frederick Douglass later lent his name to this abolitionist magazine aimed primarily at British audiences.
Radical Abolitionist, 1855-1858
Microfiche E185.5 .N385 Radi
Note: Predecessor of the New York weekly abolitionist paper Principia.(1859-1866).
The Christian Recorder, 1854-1902
Microfilm [shelved alphabetically with the newspapers]
Finding tool: The holdings of Mother Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church Historical Museum is available in the Reference Collection at BX8445 .P482 Suppl.
Note: Official newspaper of the African Methodist Episcopal Church, published in Philadelphia
Confederarte Military Manuscripts
This large collection includes personal correspondence, diaries, memoirs, military records, travel writings, and accounts of African Americans in the service of the Confederacy. Series A: Micro E484 .C75 - Series B: Micro E484 .C752 Series C: Micro E484 .C754 - Series D: Micro E484 .C756
Records of Ante Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War Series C: Micro HD1471 .U5 R44 Series G: Micro HD1471 .U5 R48 -Series H: Micro HD 1471 .U5 R49
This set includes family papers, personal and business correspondence, travel writings, financial and legal papers, business records, and diaries.
United States -- History -- Civil War (various materials about the Civil War and the Southern states with Library of Congress classification DA400 - F 503.5)
Confederate Imprints 1861-1865 (no.2392-no.3413)
Microfilm E 484 .C7
36 reels (we have reels #73-#108)
Finding tool: Confederate Imprints: A Bibliography of Southern Publications from Secession to Surrender, available in the Reference Collection at F 214 .P37 1987.
Note: Confederate imprints date from the time of a state's secession to the surrender of troops by a military commander or governmental official. An imprint is any book, pamphlet, broadside, map, piece of sheet music, pictorial print, newspaper, or magazine published in Confederate-held territory.
Travels in the Confederate States
Microcard [various LC call numbers; some are cataloged in MUSCAT and most are not]
Finding tool: Travels in the Confederate States, a Bibliography is available in the Reference Collection at F 214 .C68 1948.
Note: The purpose of this series by E. Murton Coulter is to answer questions like, What was the South like during the war years? How did its people respond to war conditions? What was the effect of the war on the region? What destruction did the territory suffer? What was the reaction of federal soldiers to prison life? What were their reactions to the destruction, carnage, and pillage of war? The observations of nonmilitary observers are also included in this set, journalists, foreigners, visitors, and innocent victims.
The Papers of George B. McClellan
Microfilm E 467.1 .M2 A3
Note: Army officer and Governor of New Jersey. Correspondence, diaries, military papers, memoranda, telegrams, notes, MSS. of writings, printed copies of speeches, articles, and books, chiefly 1850-85. More than half the collection is related to McClellan's Civil War service, particularly the Yorktown and Antietam Campaigns. Includes papers relating to the Mexican War, West point, expeditions to Texas, Arkansas, and Washington Territory, travels in Europe, politics, McClellan's campaign for President in 1864, and the Governorship of New Jersey; and much family correspondence. Correspondents include Samuel L. M. Barlow, Samuel S. Cox, George T. Curtis, Edward Everett, William B. Franklin, Joseph E. Johnston, Louis Phillipe d'Orleans, Allan Pinkerton, Fitz-John Porter, W. C. Prime, and William S. Rosecrans.
The Papers of Anna E. Dickinson
Microfilm E 415.9 .D48 A4
Note: Anna Dickinson was an orator during the Civil War era and spoke on abolition and women's rights. The set contains: "Correspondence, speeches, writings, plays, legal files, financial papers, newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, and printed material, chiefly 1859-1911, relating to Miss Dickinson's activities on behalf of abolition and women's rights and suffrage and to her career in the theater. Other topics include the elections of 1872 and 1888, the Republican Party, mental hospitals, the Civil War and Reconstruction, and education. Correspondents include William B. Allison, Susan B. Anthony, Henry Ward Beecher,Samuel Bowles, Noah Brooks, Benjamin F. Butler, Frederick Douglass, Ellen Everett, William Lloyd Garrison, Thomas Wentworth Higginson, Isabella Beecher Hooker, Wendell Phillips, Samuel C. Pomeroy, Fanny Davenport Price, Whitelaw Reid, Carl Schurz, Theodore Tilton, Mark Twain, Charles Dudley Warner, and John Greenleaf Whittier ..."
Finding tool: the first reel of microfilm includes a guide to the collection (sorry, no print guide)
Elizabeth Cady Stanton / Susan B Anthony Papers
Microfilm HQ1413 .S689 P37
Finding tool: a guide to this collection is located in the Reference Collection HQ 1413 .S689 P37 Guide, The Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony: Guide and Index to the Microfilm Edition.
State Labor Reports (from the end of the Civil War to the beginning of the 20th century, organized by state)
Microfiche HD 4835 .U5
Note: Labor statistics
Herndon-Weik Collection (Lincolniana) - includes letters/documents by or to Abraham Lincoln, Lincoln law cases, and more
Microfilm E 457 .H538
15 reels -
Finding tool: Reel #15 is an index to the set
Papers of Abraham Lincoln
Microfilm E 457.98 .L56 1959
Finding tool: The (print) index to this collection is available in the Reference Collection at E457.91 .I52 1960.
The Papers of Ephraim Squier (1821-1888)
Microfilm F 1436 .S77
Note: Epharaim Squier was a diplomat to Central America, an archaeologist in Latin America and the United States, and was the chief editor for Frank Leslie's publishing house.
Congressional Record(and its predecessors, Register of Debates in Congress and Congressional Globe), 1824-present
Microfilm [no call number]
What if I have more questions?
Visit the Research Help Desk: Monday - Thursday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm & 6:00 pm - 10:00pm Friday 9:00 am - 3:00 pm Sunday - 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM