Skip to Main Content

Diversity and Inclusion Resource Guide: Lost Histories Essay Resource Guide

Essay Prompt

The Office of Multicultural Engagement and Musselman Library invites students to participate in the 2022 Multicultural Engagement Research Contest. A panel will review the submissions through an anonymous process and select the top three submissions that will receive an award each, after being notified in April 2022. The submission window will close on April 8th.

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Many people of marginalized backgrounds have made significant contributions to society through innovation in their respective fields. Many of these inventions have transformed how most people in this country live and altered the lives of the average person today. Besides biographical information on the person, consider these questions when writing your essay; how has the invention-impacted society? How is life different today because of the invention? What were the societal issues and barriers the person had to navigate in order to accomplish their goals? Students are encouraged to use library resources to conduct their research and to follow a consistent citation style in their formatting.

Submit your essay here.

Find Background Information

Gale Virtual Reference Library logo

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search across a large collection of academic encyclopedias at once.

Find Biographical Articles

Use these databases to find biographical articles, or even articles from magazines and newspapers, on your person of interest. To get full text of the articles you find, click on the PDF or HTML links within the database. 

If the full text isn't available in the database, click the  button.

Biographical Databases