Skip to Main Content

Diversity and Inclusion Resource Guide: Disabled Voices

Description

Overview

Disabled people are frequently robbed of their autonomy. Sometimes, voices of disabled people cannot be heard over nondisabled people attempting to speak for them. An example of this is how organizations like Autism Speaks have used days like Autism Awareness Day to share negative stereotypes about autism instead of uplifting autistic voices.

To counter this problem, Holley Intern Theodore Szpakowski has created a display of books by disabled authors. Some of them are directly about disability topics while others are not. The display will be available in one of the Main Level Alcoves for the 2022-2023 school year. Selections from that display are linked below. Click on a book to be taken to its catalog entry, from where you can learn more and request it. Books are classed under the disabilities of the author, not the disabilities of characters for fiction or the disabilities addressed in nonfiction works.

Thank you for learning with us!

Anthologies and Collections

This is the cover of the book

Disability Visibility edited by Alice Wong

This is an anthology of writings by disabled authors.

This is the cover of the book

About Us edited by Peter Catapano and Rosemarie Garland-Thomson

This is an anthology of personal essays and reflections by disabled authors previously published in the New York Times.

This is the cover of the book

What We Have Done by Fred Pelka

This is a collection of oral histories with disability rights activists, written by a disability rights activist.

Neurodiverse and Mentally Ill Authors

This is the cover of the book

Aye, and Gomorrah by Samuel R. Delany

This is a short story collection by a dyslexic author.

Under the Whispering Door by TJ Klune

This is a novel by an author with ADHD.

This is the cover of the book

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

This is a novel by an author with OCD and anxiety.

A Song of Wraiths and Ruin by Susanne A. Brown

This is a novel by an author with anxiety.

This is the cover of the book

The Autistic Brain by Temple Grandin

This is a nonfiction book by an autistic author.

This is the cover of the book

Normal Sucks by Jonathan Mooney

This is a nonfiction book by an author with ADHD and dyslexia.

This is the cover of the book

The Center Cannot Hold by Elyn Saks

This is a memoir by a paranoid schizophrenic author.

This is the cover of the book

Group by Christie Tate

This is a memoir by an author with an eating disorder and suicidal thoughts.

This is the cover of the book

Little Panic by Amanda Stern

This is a memoir by an author with panic disorder.

Girl, Interrupted by Susanna Kaysen

This is a memoir by an author with depression and borderline personality.

This is the cover of the book

The Man Who Couldn't Stop by David Adam

This is a nonfiction book by an author with OCD.

This is the cover of the book

The Evil Hours by David J. Morris

This is a nonfiction book by an author with PTSD.

This is the cover of the book

Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

This is a comic collection by an author with depression.

This is the cover of the book

Marbles by Ellen Forney

This is a graphic memoir by a bipolar author.

Authors With Motor Disabilities

This is the cover of the book

Vinegar Hill by A. Manette Mansay

This novel is by an author with a muscular disability.

This is the cover of the book

Down All the Days by Christie Brown

This novel is by an author with cerebral palsy.

2001: A Space Odyssey by Arthur C. Clarke

This novel is by an author with polio.

This is the cover of the book

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

This novel is by an author with a spinal condition.

Being Heumann by Judith Heumann

This is a memoir by an author with polio.

House of Prayer No. 2 by Mark Richard

This is a memoir by a physically disabled author.

Golem Girl by Riva Lehrer

This is the memoir of an author with spina bifida.

This is the cover of the book

Beasts of Burden by Sunaura Taylor

This is a nonfiction book by an author with arthogryposis.

This is the cover of the book

In Sickness and In Health by Ben Mattlin

This memoir is by an author with spinal muscular atrophy.

This is the cover of the book

Feminist, Queer, Crip by Alison Kafer

This nonfiction book is by a physically disabled author, who uses a wheelchair as a result of experiencing a fire.

This is the cover of the book

Demystifying Disability by Emily Ladau

This nonfiction book is by an author with Larsen syndrome.

This is the cover of the book

My Body Politic by Simi Linton

This memoir is by a paralyzed author.

This is the cover of the book

Cyborg Detective by Jillian Weise

This poetry collection is by an amputee.

Chronically Ill Authors

This is the cover of the book

An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon

This novel is by a diabetic author.

This is the cover of the book

Piranesi by Susanna Clarke

This is a novel by an author with chronic fatigue syndrome.

This is the cover of the book

Learning Sickness by James Lang

This memoir is by an author with Crohn's disease.

This is the cover of the book

The Deep Places by Ross Gregory Douthat

This is a memoir by an author with chronic Lyme disease.

This is the cover of the book

Ask Me About My Uterus by Abby Norman

This is a memoir by an author with endometriosis.

This is the cover of the book

Crippled by Frances Ryan

This is a nonfiction book by an author with muscle weakness and chronic fatigue.

This is the cover of the book

Body Counts by Sean Strub

This is a memoir by an author with AIDS.

This is the cover of the book

Dirty River by Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha

This is a memoir by an author with fibromyalgia.

Deaf and/or Blind Authors

This is the cover of the book

Girl at War by Sara Novic

This is a novel by a Deaf author.

This is the cover of the book

Haben by Haben Girma

This is a memoir by a Deafblind author.

This is the cover of the book

The Mystery of the Eye and the Shadow of Blindness by Rod Michalko

This is a nonfiction book by a blind author.

This is the cover of the book

The Language of Light by Gerald Shea

This is a nonfiction book by a partially deaf author.

This is the cover of the book

Hearing Happiness by Jaipreet Virdi

This is a nonfiction book by a Deaf author.

This is the cover of the book

The Song of the Stone Wall by Helen Keller

This book-length poem is by a Deafblind author.

Authors with Cancer

This is the cover of the book

Examining Myself by Musa Mayer

This memoir is by an author with breast cancer.

Autobiography of a Face by Lucy Grealy

This is a memoir by an author with Ewing's sarcoma.

This is the cover of the book

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

This memoir is by an author with lung cancer.

This is the cover of the book

Stranger in the Village of the Sick by Paul Stoller

This memoir is by an author with lymphoma.

This is the cover of the book

Memoir of a Debulked Woman by Susan Gubar

This memoir is by an author with ovarian cancer.

This is the cover of the book

A Journey Round My Skull by Frigyes Karinthy

This memoir is by an author with a brain tumor.

Authors with Neurological Disorders

This is the cover of the book

The Magic Kingdom by Stanley Elkins

This novel is by an author with multiple sclerosis.

This is the cover of the book

Waist-High in the World by Nancy Mairs

This essay collection is by an author with multiple sclerosis.

This is the cover of the book

Beyond Ramps by Marta Russell

This is a nonfiction book by an author with cerebral palsy.

This is the cover of the book

Exile and Pride by Eli Clare

This is a nonfiction book by an author with cerebral palsy.

This is the cover of the book

Tales from the Bed by Jenifer Estess

This memoir was written by an author with ALS (amyotrophic lateral sclerosis).

This is the cover of the book

In the Shadow of Memory by Floyd Skloot

This is a memoir of an author with static dementia.

This is the cover of the book

My Degeneration by Peter Dunlap-Shohl

This graphic memoir is by an author with Parkinson's disease.

This is the cover of the book

The Diving Bell and the Butterfly by Jean-Dominique Bauby

This memoir is by an author with locked-in syndrome after a stroke.

This is the cover of the book

As I Live and Breathe by Jamie Weisman

This memoir is by an author with a congenital immune deficiency.

Disabled Authors Not Covered Above

This is the cover of the book

The Salt Roads by Nalo Hopkinson

This novel is by an author with ADHD, fibromyalgia, and a nonverbal learning disability.

This is the cover of the book

Stitches by David Small

This is a graphic memoir by an author with sinus problems that led to cancer and loss of speech.

This is the cover of the book

The Pretty One by Keah Brown

This essay collection is by an author with cerebral palsy and depression.

This is the cover of the book

Wow, No Thank You by Samantha Irby

This is an essay collection by an author with Crohn's disease, degenerative arthritis, and depression.

This is the cover of the book

The Collected Schizophrenias by Esmé Weijun Wang

This is an essay collection by an author with schizoaffective disorder and Lyme disease.

This is the cover of the book

No Time Like The Future by Michael J. Fox

This memoir is by an author with Parkinson's disease and a spinal condition.