Research Guides: German Studies: Home

Books and Journal Articles

Disciplinary Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Covers literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Over 6,000 journals and series, plus 1,200 book publishers, are indexed. Articles date from 1926-present.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 560 journals plus cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 270 journals. Contains more than 160 full-text journals and over 160 full-text books. Access Variety movie reviews dating back to 1914. Includes more than 63,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia from 1972 to present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to world history articles, book chapters, books, and more on topics dating from 1450-present. Coverage excludes U.S. and Canada. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals are indexed. Years of coverage: 1954-present.

General Databases

Given the interdisciplinary nature of research in German Studies, you may need to search in general, interdisciplinary databases and discipline-specific options, such as those for literature, film studies, gender and sexuality studies, etc.

MUSCAT Plus This link opens in a new window
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to content across all disciplines. Search or browse books, journals, images, and primary sources.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. Content covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.

Films and Documentaries

Library Catalog

Muscat Plus includes DVD and online streaming films.

Online films can also be searched in the databases listed on the Films Online guide.

You can search and browse the collection in several ways:

1. Search by title, director, or film

2. Limit results to Source Type: Videos (left side menu) when viewing results in Muscat Plus

3. Use subjects on individual titles in the catalog, such as: Motion pictures, German

Streaming Film Collections

Kanopy Videostreaming This link opens in a new window
All Kanopy titles appear in Muscat Plus. However, you can search just within Kanopy, which has a broad selection of international films.

German Print Serials in the Browsing Collection

Gegenwartsliteratur

Print access (2002-present)

Der Spiegel

Online (1998-present) and print access (1976-present)

Current News (Newspapers and Newswires)

German-language News in Other Library Databases

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from over 10,680 U.S. and international newspapers, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Includes The Gettysburg Times (2008-present) and The Evening Sun (2001-present).
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 200 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 310 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

Other German Reference Sources

KLG Online This link opens in a new window
The Critical Dictionary of German literature - KLG is the standard work on German literature after 1945. It offers a unique wealth of information on the life and works of almost 650 authors.

Encyclopedia of German Literature
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1579581382
Arranged from A-Z with entries on authors, works, and topics. Entries may include critical essays, biographical information, further readings, and bibliographies.
The Oxford Companion to German Literature by Henry Garland; Mary Garland
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0198158963
The entries, arranged A-Z, cover authors and their major works, as well as historical, intellectual, and cultural backgrounds.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0415124484
With more than 1,100 entries written by an international group of over 150 contributors, the Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture brings together myriad strands of social, political and cultural life in the post-1945 German-speaking world. Current through 1998.

German Studies: Home

Questions? Ask me!

Dictionaries