LALT is a journal associated with World Literature Today that seeks to reflect new realities of Spanish-language literature through a quarterly online publication, circulating in the United States as well as the literary communities of Latin America and Spain. All entries are available in both English and Spanish.
Latin American & Latinx Resources
Resources specific to Latin America and Hispanic culture:
Provides full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for interdisciplinary study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Includes titles indexed in HAPI featuring Spanish, Portuguese and English language content.
Provides citations to Latin American Studies articles covering the regions of Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Over 400 journals are indexed. Years of coverage: 1967-present.
Supports the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Terms and thesaurus are based on the expressions Spanish-speakers commonly use, allowing users to easily navigate through the database without experiencing inaccurate search terms.
Includes Spanish-language ebooks and ejournals in Architecture, Art, Film Study, Geography, Health Sciences, History, Language & Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy, Political Affairs, Religion, Science, Social Science and Technology.
The Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly books, journal articles, conference proceedings and papers, book chapters, maps and atlases, and electronic resources (blogs, websites, online videos, etc.) dealing with Latin America. The multidisciplinary Handbook is edited and compiled by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Years of coverage: 1935-present.
Provides comprehensive coverage of the Hispanic American experience from the early 18th century through the early 21st century. Content is sourced from more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals. Library has Series I, 1704-1942: Spanish Colonialism through World War II, and Series II, 1943-2009: Immigration, Labor Rights and Civil Rights.
Chicana por mi Raza Digital Memory Collective is a group of researchers, educators, students, archivists and technologists dedicated to preserving imperiled Chicanx and Latinx histories of the long Civil Rights Era. The overarching objective of the project is to provide broad‐based public access to oral histories, material culture, correspondence, and rare out‐of‐print publications for use in both scholarly research and the classroom. The online repository contains approximately 7,000 available digital records and over 500 interview clips.
SciELO is a bibliographic database and a model for cooperative electronic publishing in a number of Latin American and countries countries as well as Spain. It is supported by the Foundation for Research Support of the State of São Paulo and the National Council of Scientific and Technological Development of Brazil, in partnership with the Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information (the Portuguese acronym is BIREME). The database contains 815 scientific journals from different countries in free and universal access, full-text format.
Provides access to thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. Content covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative of partners within the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean that provides users with access to Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials held in archives, libraries, and private collections. Types of collections include but are not limited to: newspapers, archives of Caribbean leaders and governments, official documents, documentation and numeric data for ecosystems, scientific scholarship, historic and contemporary maps, oral and popular histories, travel accounts, literature and poetry, musical expressions, and artifacts.
The Caribbean Newspaper Digital Collection is now within the Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC), a cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. This resource provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.