Skip to Main Content

Online Learning for Information Literacy: Library Basics

A collection of online tutorials, videos, class exercises, and assessments for developing students' information literacy.

Introduction to MUSCAT Plus

Introduction to MUSCAT Plus tutorial screenshotOverview

This tutorial walks through the basics of using MUSCAT Plus, the search box on the library's main page, to search our print and electronic collections

Length

5–10 minutes

Outcomes

  • Log in to your library account in order to access all MUSCAT Plus search features
  • Summarize differences between search options available in MUSCAT Plus
  • Locate a record for a book in Musselman Library's collection
  • Retrieve the full text of an article
  • Identify other research tools linked within MUSCAT Plus

Link

https://gettysburg.libwizard.com/f/muscatplus

How to Access Journal Articles

Screenshot from tutorial about MUSCAT PlusOverview

This tutorial demonstrates how to access an online journal article using the Musselman Library website.

Length

5-10 minutes

Outcomes

  • Access the full text of journal articles through the library website
  • Request copies of articles from journals the library does not subscribe to

Link 

https://gettysburg.libwizard.com/f/finding-articles

Finding Library Databases

Screenshot from tutorial about finding databasesOverview

This tutorial shows how to access discipline-specific databases from the Musselman Library website.

Length

5-10 minutes

Outcomes

  • Find a specific database using the A–Z Databases list
  • Find the research guide for a specific department

Link 

https://gettysburg.libwizard.com/f/finding-databases

Finding and Reading Ebooks

Screenshot from tutorial about finding ebooksOverview

This tutorial walks you through how to search the library catalog for ebooks and how to access the full text online.

Length

5-10 minutes

Outcomes

  • Limit a MUSCAT Plus search to ebooks available in our library collection
  • Access the full text of an ebook online

Link 

https://gettysburg.libwizard.com/f/finding-ebooks

Connecting Google Scholar to Your Library Account

Overview

This video demonstrates how to connect Google Scholar to your library account so you can access more subscription content while off campus.

Length

1 Minute

Outcomes

  • Connect Google Scholar to your Musselman Library account
  • Access the full text of subscription journal articles discovered using Google Scholar

Link

https://gettysburg.hosted.panopto.com/Panopto/Pages/Viewer.aspx?id=5806b9ba-33b8-45eb-a066-aedf0142488d