LAS 261/HIST 261 - Greenwald - Latin American, Caribbean, & Latino Studies

Finding Books and Journal Articles

Library Catalogs

MUSCAT Plus This link opens in a new window
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.

To see have more options and see all results, sign in before searching.

Interdisciplinary

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to content across all disciplines. Search or browse books, journals, images, and primary sources.

History

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to articles on American and Canadian history. Articles date from 1964 – present. Includes some full-text links.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to world history articles, book chapters, books, and more on topics dating from 1450-present. Coverage excludes U.S. and Canada. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals are indexed. Years of coverage: 1954-present.

Latin America

Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
The Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly books, journal articles, conference proceedings and papers, book chapters, maps and atlases, and electronic resources (blogs, websites, online videos, etc.) dealing with Latin America. The multidisciplinary Handbook is edited and compiled by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Years of coverage: 1935-present.
PRISMA This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for interdisciplinary study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Includes titles indexed in HAPI featuring Spanish, Portuguese and English language content.

Bibliographies

The Cambridge History of Latin America
Call Number: Ebook and Book Collection - F1410 .C1834 v.1-11
ISBN: 0521395240
Volume 1 and 2 focus on the colonial era. The "Bibliographical Essay" at the end of each volume, in addition to the references in each section, this essay may be a helpful starting point for sources.

Specific Journals

Some major journals in this area are:

Hispanic American Historical Review (HAHR)

eDuke Journals has 1918-present

Colonial Latin American Review (CLAR)

Indexed in Historical Abstracts, 1992-present

Colonial Latin American Historical Review (CLAHR)

Indexed in Historical Abstracts, 1992-2014

Primary Sources

Use these databases to identify primary source documents that relate to your topic. For additional resources, visit the Primary Sources Research Guide.

Sourcebooks and Readers

The Latin America Readers series
ISBN: 0822375060
Each volume will focus on a single country and cover the main themes in its history and contemporary life, including migration and urbanization, racial and ethnic diversity, art and culture, war and political strife, women's rights, the environment, economic reform, and democracy.

The library has the entire series online; some titles may have a print copy, as well.

I have included a selection of primary source document collections, readers, and sourcebooks. To find more, try keyword searches like: (documents OR sources AND "latin america") or (documents OR sources AND mexico)

Colonial Lives: Documents on Latin American History, 1550-1850
Call Number: Book Collection ; F1410 .C725 2000
ISBN: 0195125126
Offers a rich variety of archival documents in translation which bring to life the political and economic workings of Latin American colonies during 300 years of Spanish rule, as well as the day-to-day lives of the colonies' inhabitants.
Colonial Latin America: A Documentary History
Call Number: Book Collection - F1412 .C642 2002
ISBN: 0842029966
A sourcebook of translated primary texts and images.
Afro-Latino Voices: Narratives from the Early Modern Ibero-Atlantic World, 1550-1812 by Kathryn Joy McKnight (Editor); Leo J. Garofalo (Editor)
Call Number: Book Collection ; DT16.5 .A37 2009
ISBN: 9780872209930
Publication Date: 2009-11-15
A sampling of documents from the early modern voices of the African diaspora, including wills, testaments, letters, etc.
New Iberian World: A Documentary History of the Discovery and Settlement of Latin America to the Early 17th Century
Call Number: Oversize Books ; F1411 .I18 1984 v.1-5
ISBN: 0812910702
v. 1. The conquerors and the conquered -- v. 2. The Caribbean -- v. 3. Central America and Mexico -- v. 4. The Andes -- v. 5. Coastlines, rivers, and forests.

Newspapers and Magazines

Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of the Hispanic American experience from the early 18th century through the early 21st century. Content is sourced from more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals. Library has Series I, 1704-1942: Spanish Colonialism through World War II, and Series II, 1943-2009: Immigration, Labor Rights and Civil Rights.
Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1905-1975), Chicago Tribune (1858-1993), Los Angeles Times (1881-1993), New York Times (1851-2013), Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-Current), Washington Post (1877-2000), The Guardian (1821-2003), and The Observer (1791-2003).

Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers
"Comprising nearly 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news."

Digital Collections

Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera (Princeton)
The bulk of the materials currently found in the Digital Archive were originally created around the turn of the 20th century and after, with some originating as recently as within the last year. The formats or genre most commonly included are pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards. These items were originally created by a wide array of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, and other types of organizations in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities. The vast majority are rare, hard-to-find primary sources unavailable elsewhere.

Public Online Collections

Latin American and Caribbean Periodicals (UCLA)
Periodicals from UCLA's International Digital Ephemera Project, c. 1890-1950.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Freely accessible web site of sources from the Library of Congress special collections that consist of primary source and archival materials relating to US history and culture.

Citation with Turabian or Chicago Style

For more information about citation styles and citation software, see the citation guide.

The online Turabian Style Citation Quick Guide provides examples for commonly cited sources in both Author-Date and Notes and Bibliography styles.

Latin American, Caribbean, & Latino Studies: LAS 261/HIST 261 - Greenwald

Questions? Ask me!

Background Information

Who What When