A digital collection of maps of the Classical World published in 1834. Atlas Classica is part of the Map Collection at Gettysburg College housed in Special Collections.
This digital collection features case folding maps representing city, country, regional, and world maps from the late 19th and early 20th century which were donated to Special Collections and College Archives by former U.S. Ambassador Lawrence P. Taylor.
Taylor began purchasing many of the folded maps in this collection while living in Britain. Some were part of sales to antiquarian book dealers of large personal libraries in the 1980s. Taylor would often have the chance to sift through recent acquisitions and serendipity often rewarded him with very unique titles. The first case folding map he bought was the Bacon’s Map of the World.
Special Collections is so appreciative of the opportunity to make this remarkable collection of maps available digitally and Ambassador Taylor’s commitment to sharing these maps as invaluable learning objects for our students and researchers.
This digital collection contains Gettysburg College's Special Collections holdings for the Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of Gettysburg in 1924. The Sanborn maps are part of the Map Collection at Gettysburg College housed in Special Collections. The Sanborn Map Collection is limited to campus use only.
The Stuckenberg Map Collection consists of three 17th century atlases and over 500 map sheets from the 16th through the 19th century. John H.W. Stuckenberg had a life long interest in maps, and purchased the majority of his collection while living in Germany. The Stuckenberg Map Collection is part of the Map Collection at Gettysburg College housed in Special Collections.
