A digital collection celebrating notable bindings from our Rare Book Collection. This collection highlights the book as artifact and illustrates the history of bookbinding. Each entry contains binding descriptions and images of features such as cover, fore-edge, spine, and binder's tickets. Special Collections and College Archives houses approximately 5000 rare books.
This project began as a collaboration between our conservator Mary Wootton and our Diane Werley Smith '73 Intern Rachel Hammer, Class of 2015. In addition to describing these books as artifacts for the digital project, each MUSCAT Plus cataloging record for these titles has been enhanced with the provenance and binding description identified through this project.
This is a digital representation of the Early American Document Collection, an artificial collection comprising Colonial Era documents from a variety of donors and locations. Within this digital collection are scanned images of colonial American documents, as well as details and images of watermarks (where applicable). Inclusive dates are largely bulked between 1727-1728, and also from 1775-1787. The collection contains broadsides, manuscripts, and other material from the colonial era and early republic, with most being land and legal documents from Pennsylvania.
This digital collection features a compliation of letters, images, and artifacts from various collections in our holdings related to Dwight D. and Mamie Eisenhower. It includes campaign memorabilia from the presidential campaigns of 1952 and 1956, correspondence to and from the Eisenhowers, and images of Eisenhower collected from the U.S. Army Signal Corps and other sources. This digital collection pulls from manuscript collections such as MS-088: The Dillon Anderson Papers, MS-157: The Donald C. Brett Collection of Eisenhower Memorabilia, and MS-098: The Eisenhower Letters to Col. & Mrs. Sam White, as well as the records of Gettysburg College president H.W. Hanson.
The digital pamphlet collection is made up of a small selection of the 18th - 20th century pamphlets that are held by Special Collections and College Archives. Some were authored by presidents, faculty, or students of the College.
The Gettysburg Postcard Collection presents vintage postcards depicting views of the Gettysburg College and Gettysburg Seminary campuses as well as images of the town and Battlefield
This collection is an ongoing effort to provide virtual access to the extensive stereograph card collection of Richard C. Ryder '70. These stereoviews contain wartime images as well as views of wildlife, travel, national parks, national disasters, and world's fairs.
This digital collection highlights scrapbooks and photograph albums from Special Collections and College Archives.
This digital collection contains PDF versions of the full descriptive inventories for large collections of personal papers, faculty papers, and student organizations.
A collection of digitized primary sources from our physical collections. Each of these objects have been shared with students during a class visit to our Reading Room.
