Skip to Main Content

Special Collections - World War I Sources: Primary Sources

Scrapbooks and Memoirs

Kinnear, John A. Consist of 7 postcards and 93 letters which were all written by Kinnear to his family who lived near Lexington Virginia. The letters range in dates from November of 1916 (before Kinnear joined the ambulance service) to May of 1919 (after he arrived home from Europe). MS-148

Parkin, Major Harry D. Memoirs of World War I. Five Volumes, bound. "Being an account of the experiences of an American officer wounded and captured by the Germans." Parkin was the commander of the First Battalion, 316th Infantry, 79th Division of the American Expeditionary Forces. MS-663pp. Miscellaneous Volumes, #394-398

Toomey, Leo. Correspondence, September 1917 - May 1918, between Toomey, his mother and sister, and, correspondence, January 1916 - April 1927, to Toomey from various sources. Collection also includes photographs, documents and other ephemera and a home-made kit bag. MS-032

Tompkins, Francis M. 3 annotated scrapbooks made by Francis M. Tompkins, Ist Lieutenant of the 305 Engineers. The scrapbooks contain photographs, documents, maps, and memorabilia from his experiences from June 1918 training at Camp Lee, VA through his time in France. MS-155  

Vertical File Manuscripts

Die Woche. 3 issues of the German publication Die Woche (in German). Issues 32, 34, and 36. 8 Aug. 1914, 22 Aug. 1914, and 5 Sep. 1914. VFM-333

Letter to American Troops. Signed by King George V of England. April 1918, Windsor Castle. A.L.s. VFM-358

Locke, W. L. Letter to Miss Thompson from Camp Colt, Gettysburg, PA. ALS-3pp. VFM-222

‚ÄčPickering, Anne.  Eight 7 inch double discs from the World War I era.  Three postcards from World War I.  Four Index of Records cards.  VFM-342.

Stickney, Fred. Liberty War Diary of WWI, 1 Jan. 1918 - 31 Dec. 1918. AMsS-100pp. VFM-196

Wally. Cartoons of the A.E.F. booklet. VFM-240 (oversize)

Letters From Soldiers During Word War I

Jessen, Jes Jerry. This collection contains 109 letters written by Jes Jerry Jessen addressed to his family in Spokane, WA, including his mother and father, his brothers George and Ralph, his sister Helen ("La La") and his aunt Molly between June 6th, 1917 and June 22nd, 1919. MS-103

Kane, Andrew R. This collection is made up of 28 letters sent to Andrew R. Kane of Philadelphia, PA from May 31-July 15, 1918 while he was serving with the 112th Infantry, Company C in France. MS-147

Kinnear, John A. Consist of 7 postcards and 93 letters which were all written by Kinnear to his family who lived near Lexington Virginia. The letters range in dates from November of 1916 (before Kinnear joined the ambulance service) to May of 1919 (after he arrived home from Europe). MS-148

Miller, Captain Russell. Correspondence, June 1916 - May 1919, between Miller and his fiancée, and later, wife, Claudia. MS-082

Ryan, Charles D. 66th Engineers. Letters to his future wife from stateside and France, March 1918-June 1919. MS-053

Stickney, Fred. Liberty War Diary of WWI, 1 Jan. 1918 - 31 Dec. 1918. AMsS-100pp. VFM- 196

Straus, Captain (Doctor) Henry W., Ambulance Company #117. Correspondence, June 1918 - March 1919 to wife Anna. MS-130

Stuckenberg, J. H. W. Correspondence and other materials, 1911-1929. MS-093

Toomey, Leo. Correspondence, September 1917 - May 1918, between Toomey, his mother and sister, and, correspondence, January 1916 - April 1927, to Toomey from various sources. Collection also includes photographs, documents and other ephemera and a home-made kit bag. MS-032

Wright, John. Letters received by John Wright (when editor of Knoxville Journal, Knoxville, Iowa) and to family members, from area residents serving in the armed forces during World War I. MS-095