Skip to Main Content

Special Collections - World War I Sources: Help!

Locating Materials

Published Materials:

Check MUSCAT Plus.

  • Special Collections stacks are closed. To acquire an item, make a request at the reference desk in the Special Collections Reading Room.
  • Some materials may be found in the main stacks and can circulate.

Non-published Materials:

Include photographs, maps, ephemera, and manuscripts housed in Special Collections.

These items do not circulate and are available only in Special Collections.

 

FAQs

What is the Reading Room?

The Reading Room is the section of Special Collections open for research. The Reading Room has tables and chairs for researchers, as well as some reference materials. Special Collections materials are not permitted to leave the Reading Room, thus all Special Collections research must be completed there.

What are closed stacks?

Most of Special Collections’ holdings are kept in closed stacks. Unlike the stacks in the library, you are not permitted to browse for materials on your own in the Special Collections storage room. Instead, you can request an item from the staff on duty, who will then retrieve the item for you.

What should I bring with me?

Bring a pencil to write with because pens are not permitted. You can also bring your laptop computer, but not a scanner. Coats, purses, book bags, briefcases, binders, etc. are not permitted in the Reading Room, however, lockers are provided to store these items.

Can I make photocopies or scans?

Special Collections staff will provide photocopies or scans on a case-by-case basis depending on the amount of material requested and its condition.  Please ask before taking photographs of Special Collections materials.

How do I cite materials from Special Collections?

In citing these materials, please cite the full name of the collection and of Special Collections. Example: The Joe Brown Collections, Special Collections/Musselman Library, Gettysburg College, Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. For additional examples, see our Citation Guide.

Can Special Collections items be found in MUSCAT Plus?

Many of our materials such as books are in MUSCAT Plus, so it is a good place to start looking for published materials. Special Collections is home to many materials that aren’t published (for instance, collections of letters, photographs, oral histories). While some of these items are not in MUSCAT Plus, a growing number are being cataloged and added to MUSCAT Plus. If you cannot find what you are looking for with a MUSCAT Plus search, consult the subject guides or ask an archivist for assistance.

What if I haven't finished what I'm working on when Special Collections closes?

You cannot take Special Collections materials with you. However, the materials you are using may be set aside and will be available for you when you next can visit.

Special Collections Rules of Use