Provides citations and abstracts to music articles (international focus) from 1969-present, with records in over 200 languages. Indexes more than 2,000 music journals and about 11,000 journals from other disciplines.
Provides access to thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. Content covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.
Provides material and entries devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. For each region, it also provides a survey of musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances.
Provides access to publications on blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression from a variety of sources.
Derived from the classic Oxford Dictionary of Music, this is the most authoritative dictionary of music available in paperback. Up-to-date and clearly written, it is a rich mine of information for lovers of music of all periods and styles.
The new edition of this classic reference work includes articles that range from clear, concise definitions of musical ideas and terms to extended surveys of musical forms and styles, with specialist coverage of virtually every musical subject.
Is a unique and authoritative A-Z reference work that will answer all your questions on who's who in opera. Contains over 2,500 lively entries on operatic characters, with information on the creator of the role and notable performances.
A unique and authoritative A-Z reference work that will answer all your questions on who's who in opera. Contains over 2,500 lively entries on operatic characters, with information on the creator of the role and notable performances.
Covering over 1500 singers from the birth of opera to the present day, this marvellous volume will be an essential resource for all serious opera lovers and an indispensable companion to the enormously successful Grove Book of Operas
Each succinct yet insightful entry is written by a leading authority on the opera and includes a full synopsis of the plot, a cast list, a note on the singers in the original production, and information on the origins of the work and its literary and social background. Contributions conclude with a brief comment on the particular work's place in operatic history.
Comprehensive collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions of foreign language texts in art song and opera. This reference source aids singers, instructors and others with the correct and knowledgeable performance of vocal literature. Promotes accurate pronunciation of words and allows singers to imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content.