Research Guides: News: Home

Current News Sources

National Newspapers

New York Times - Group pass allowing unlimited online access (activation directions); Access past articles through MUSCAT Plus

Wall Street Journal - Group pass allowing unlimited online access (activation directions); Access past articles through MUSCAT Plus

Washington Post - Access news articles from the daily Washington Post. Journalists report on politics, business, world national news, and more. Coverage goes back on a rolling 15 year basis. NOTE: Account creation is not necessary. The library provides site/remote access but ads will appear alongside news articles.

USA Today - Access past articles through MUSCAT Plus

Wire Services

Associated Press - Access past articles through MUSCAT Plus

Reuters - Access past articles through MUSCAT Plus

Agence France-Presse (AFP) - Access past articles through MUSCAT Plus

Major Newspapers in Largest U.S. Cities

Many articles from these newspapers can be accessed via their websites, which can be located via a quick Google search. If you run into paywall issues, check Musselman Library's subscription holdings.

New York
- New York Times
- New York Daily News
- New York Post
- Wall Street Journal
Los Angeles
- Los Angeles Times
- La Opinion
Chicago
- Chicago Sun-Times
- Chicago Tribune
Houston
- Houston Chronicle
Phoenix
- Arizona Republic
Philadelphia
- Philadelphia Inquirer
- Philadelphia Daily News
San Antonio
- San Antonio Express News
San Diego
- San Diego Union-Tribune
Dallas
- Dallas Morning News
San Jose
- San Jose Mercury News
Austin
- Austin American-Statesman
Jacksonville
- Florida Times-Union
San Francisco
- San Francisco Chronicle
- San Francisco Examiner
Columbus
- Columbus Dispatch
Indianapolis
- Indianapolis Star
Fort Worth
- Fort Worth Star-Telegram
Charlotte
- Charlotte Observer
Seattle
- Seattle Times
Denver
- Denver Post
El Paso
- El Paso Times
Washington, D.C.
- Washington Post
- Washington Times
Boston
- Boston Globe
- Boston Herald
Detroit
- Detroit Free Press
- Detroit News
Nashville
- The Tennessean
Memphis
- The Commercial Appeal

Sources to Find Current & Recent News on American Politics and Foreign Affairs

American Politics (listed entities are members of White House Press Corps)

News Networks & Cable Channels

Archived Content

American Archive of Public Broadcasting This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a growing collection of more than 7,000 historic public radio and television programs. Current content focuses on regional and local programs that document American communities during the last half of the twentieth century and the first decade of the twenty-first. Access Local news, public affairs programs, local history, and programs covering education, environmental issues, music, art, literature, dance, poetry, religion, and filmmaking on a local level.

CNN Footage Archive
A searchable database of thousands of archived clips and other content from CNN
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
The core collection of the Archive consists of regularly scheduled newscasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News from 1968 to present. Also includes special news reports and material from other networks. Users may search the Archive or browse by date or topic.

News Magazines

(Note: The links go to the magazine's website, each of which has substantial content freely available. For older content, you may need to use MUSCAT Plus' Find a Journal search to find a particular article.)

Databases

Flipster Digital Magazines This link opens in a new window
Flipster makes it easy to catch up on news and entertainment. Browse available magazines in the library's pilot collection on your computer, tablet or phone. Search within a magazine when reading online. Download Flipster Apps for reading offline.
Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Supports the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Terms and thesaurus are based on the expressions Spanish-speakers commonly use, allowing users to easily navigate through the database without experiencing inaccurate search terms.
News, Policy, & Politics Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Online archive of 15 major 20th/21st-century consumer magazines including Newsweek. Covers the history of politics, current events, public policy, and international relations. The earliest content dates from 1918 and continues to recent times. Issues are scanned from cover to cover in color.

Historical News Sources

Looking for a Specific Article?

Try searching the article title in Muscat Plus or search by publication title to check our collection holdings.

Looking for Articles About a Subject or From a Specific Time Period?

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from over 10,680 U.S. and international newspapers, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Includes The Gettysburg Times (2008-present) and The Evening Sun (2001-present).
LexisNexis Academic (now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 60,000 trusted legal, news, business and public records sources. Years of coverage varies by title, ranging from 1700 to the present. Search news, cases, law reviews, company information, and publications.
Google News Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides free access to the full text of various digitized newspapers from the U.S. and Canada, including current and historical titles published in Pennsylvania. Users can view the newspapers online, but cannot print.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 200 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 310 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1905-1975), Chicago Tribune (1858-1993), Los Angeles Times (1881-1993), New York Times (1851-2013), Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-Current), Washington Post (1877-2000), The Guardian (1821-2003), and The Observer (1791-2003).

For more databases for historical newspapers, visit the History research guide.

Alternative Press Sources

Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Alternative Press Index (API) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Born of the New Left, the API was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary and coverage begins in 1991.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
An open access collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced by feminists, dissident soldiers, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.