Research Guides: Reading Programs, Resources, and Communities: Home

Explore Titles to Read Next

The staff at Musselman Library believe that reading encourages critical and imaginative thinking and promotes lifelong learning. In support of this philosophy, the library actively collects and promotes leisure reading materials in both print and in ebook format. Explore the resources and collections included below to find your next great read as well as to learn about different library-sponsored reading programs.

Summer Reading 2023
The latest recommendations from Gettysburg College employees about great titles to read (and films to watch) over summer break!
New books @ Musselman Library
Provides lists of recently added materials in the Browsing collection, OverDrive, New Books display, and more!
Indie Next List: Great Reads from Booksellers You Trust
Published monthly, IndieBound's Next Lists provide reading recommendations from independent booksellers. A great source for finding something new to read!
Book Riot
Book Riot is the largest independent editorial book site in North America, and home to a host of media, from podcasts to newsletters to original content, all designed around diverse readers and across all genres.
We Need Diverse Books -- Resources for Finding Diverse Books
This site compiles links to recommended title lists, book awards, and reader resources for finding diverse books.
Good Reads
Goodreads is a free website for book lovers. Imagine it as a large library that you can wander through and see everyone's bookshelves, their reviews, and their ratings. You can also post your own reviews and catalog what you have read, are currently reading, and plan to read in the future. Don’t stop there – join a discussion group, start a book club, etc.
New York Times Best Sellers
Authoritatively ranked lists of books sold in the United States, sorted by format and genre.
You've Gotta Read This!
Find all the back issues of Musselman Library's annual summer reading list on this website. Each issue is filled with great recommendations from faculty and staff. You won't want to miss a single year!
Adams County Library System (public library)
The Gettysburg branch of the Adams County Library System (ACLS) is just a few blocks away from campus. Sign up for a library card and enjoy having access to more books, audiobooks, CDs, and more, at another great Gettysburg library.

Additional Resources for Readers

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
MUSCAT Plus This link opens in a new window
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to books & other materials owned by over 10,000 libraries around the world (subject matter covers material from all time periods).
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 350,000 works of American and English literature (poetry, fiction, drama, prose, and the Bible) from the 8th century to the present day. Search criticism, primary texts, author pages, and reference works.

Need Help Facilitating a Discussion?

Musselman Library has compiled some tips that will help anyone facilitate a lively book discussion, whether you're gathering as a group in person or from a distance. Please let us know if you have additional ideas or what to share what worked (or not).

Reading Programs, Resources, and Communities: Home

Ebooks on OverDrive

Flipster Magazines

Explore Titles to Read Next

Additional Resources for Readers

Need Help Facilitating a Discussion?

Tips for Book Discussion Facilitators