Slavery: Source Material & Critical Literature Microfiche
E 449 .S6 Finding tool: Slavery: Source Material and Critical
Literature: A List of Microfiche Editions is available on top of the
microfilm cabinets MICRO E 449 .S6 1986. The set can also be searched
in MUSCAT Plus.
Federal Slave Narratives Microfilm E 444 .F27 4
reels (reels #2-#5) Note: Folk history of slavery in the United
States from interviews with former slaves
The Conrad/Tubman Collection - Micro E 444 .T825 C66
1995. This set comprises the research Earl Conrad conducted on Harriet
Tubman. Guide: Manuscript Collections from the Schomberg Center
for Research in Black Culture. MICRO E 444 .T825 C66 1995.
The Horace Greeley Papers - Micro E 415 .9 .G8 H67 1997 Guide:
MICRO E 415.9 .G8 H67 1997 Guide
The Thaddeus Stevens Papers - Micro E 415.9 .S84 A4 1993 Guide:
MICRO E 415.9 .S84 A4 1993 Guide
Registers of Signatures & Depositions of Freedman's
Savings & Trust Company, 1865-1874 Microfilm E 185.2 .U55 27
reels Note: Contains signatures of and personal identification data
about depositors in 29 branch offices of the Freedman's Savings and
Trust Company.
Indexes to Deposit Ledgers in Branches of Freedmen's Savings
& Trust Company, 1865-1874 Microfilm E 185.2 .U592 5
reels Note: Indexes to deposit ledgers that list the names of
depositors in 26 branch offices of the Freedman's Savings and Trust
Company. Introduction included at beginning of reel 1.
Records of the U.S. District Court for D.C. Relating to
Slaves, 1851-1863 Microfilm E 449 .R295 3 reels Note: These
records include emancipation papers, 1857-63; manumission papers,
1851-63; and case papers relating to fugitive slaves.
Registro Central de Esclavos, 1872 (Slave Schedules) Microfilm
F 1973 .U557x 8 reels Note: Records of the Spanish governors of
Puerto Rico
African Repository, 1826-1892 Microfiche E448 .A25 Note:
The African Repository was the official journal of the American
Colonization Society and the oldest and longest running of all of the
colonization newspapers. It served as the Society's propaganda paper by
publishing letters from former slaves and blacks that had settled in
Liberia that positively reflected the Society's objectives.
Anti-Slavery Reporter, 1840-1908 Microfiche E185.5
.N385 Anti Note: Also published under the names The British and
Foreign Anti-Slavery Reporter and The Anit-Slavery Reporter.
Published in London, England by the Anti-Slavery and Aborigines
Protection Society.
Douglass' Monthly, 1859-1863 Microfiche E185.5 .N385
Doug Note: Originally founded in Rochester, NY in 1847 under the name
North Star. Frederick Douglass later lent his name to this
abolitionist magazine aimed primarily at British audiences.
Radical Abolitionist, 1855-1858 Microfiche E185.5
.N385 Radi Note: Predecessor of the New York weekly abolitionist
paper Principia.(1859-1866).
The Christian Recorder, 1854-1902 Microfilm [shelved
alphabetically with the newspapers] 11 reels Finding tool: The
holdings of Mother Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church Historical
Museum is available in the Reference Collection at BX 8445 .P482
Suppl. Note: Official newspaper of the African Methodist Episcopal
Church, published in Philadelphia
Abolitionist Periodicals Microfilm [Journals
catalogued by subject, Newspapers shelved alphabetically with other
newspapers] 54 reels Note: these various periodicals were
originally published by the Library of Congress. The collection includes
25+ periodicals, including Southern Letter (1889-1927), Black
Diamond (1892-1895), The Cradle of Liberty (1839-1840), The
Free American (1839-1841), Free State Rally and Texan Chain
Breaker (1845-1846), Herald of Freedom (March 1835), Freedom's
Journal (1827-1828), Friend of Man (June 1836), The New
York Evangelist (January 1830), The North Star (December
1847), The Regenerator (1844-1845), Zion's Watchman
(1836-1857), The Anti-Slavery Bugle (1845, 1851-1861), The
American Citizen (1845-1846), National Union League Gazette, West
Philadelphia Hospital Register (1863), Southern Workman
(1872-1873), and Rhode Island Freeman (1854-1855).
Civil War Era Studies
Compiled Records Showing Military Units in Volunteer Union
Organizations Microfilm E 494 .C67 14 reels Note: Card
abstracts containing information relating to the stations, movements, or
activities of each unit, and its organization or composition, strengths
and losses, and disbandment.
Compiled Records Showing Service of Military Units in
Volunteer Union organizations. U.S.Colored Troops Microfilm E 540
.N3 C67 14 reels (reels #204-#217) Note: Card abstracts
containing information relating to the stations, movements, or
activities of each unit, and its organization or composition, strengths
and losses, and disbandment.
Confederarte Military Manuscripts This large
collection includes personal correspondence, diaries, memoirs, military
records, travel writings, and accounts of African Americans in the
service of the Confederacy. Series A: Micro E 484 .C75 - Series B:
Micro E 484 .C752 Series C: Micro E 484 .C754 - Series D: Micro E 484
.C756
Index to Compiled Service Records of Volunteer Union
Soldiers Who Served with United States Colored Troops Microfilm E
540.N3 I48 98 reels
Records of Ante Bellum Southern Plantations from the
Revolution through the Civil War Micro HD 1471 .U5 R49 - Series
C: Micro HD 1471 .U5 R44 Series G: Micro HD 1471 .U5 R48 -Series H:
Micro HD 1471 .U5 R49 This set includes family papers, personal and
business correspondence, travel writings, financial and legal papers,
business records, and diaries.
Records of the 54th Mass Infantry (Colored) Microfilm
E 513.5 54th .R42 1992 7 reels
United States -- History -- Civil War (various materials
about the Civil War and the Southern states with Library of Congress
classification DA 400 - F 503.5) Microcard Several drawers
Confederate Imprints 1861-1865 (no.2392-no.3413) Microfilm
E 484 .C7 36 reels (we have reels #73-#108) Finding tool: Confederate
Imprints: A Bibliography of Southern Publications from Secession to
Surrender, available in the Reference Collection at F 214 .P37 1987. Note:
Confederate imprints date from the time of a state's secession to the
surrender of troops by a military commander or governmental official. An
imprint is any book, pamphlet, broadside, map, piece of sheet music,
pictorial print, newspaper, or magazine published in Confederate-held
territory.
Travels in the Confederate States Microcard [various
LC call numbers; some are cataloged in MUSCAT Plus and most are not] Finding
tool: Travels in the Confederate States, a Bibliography is available in
the Reference Collection at F 214 .C68 1948. Note: The purpose of
this series by E. Murton Coulter is to answer questions like, What was
the South like during the war years? How did its people respond to war
conditions? What was the effect of the war on the region? What
destruction did the territory suffer? What was the reaction of federal
soldiers to prison life? What were their reactions to the destruction,
carnage, and pillage of war? The observations of nonmilitary observers
are also included in this set, journalists, foreigners, visitors, and
innocent victims.
The Papers of George B. McClellan Microfilm E 467.1
.M2 A3 82 reels Note: Army officer and Governor of New Jersey.
Correspondence, diaries, military papers, memoranda, telegrams, notes,
MSS. of writings, printed copies of speeches, articles, and books,
chiefly 1850-85. More than half the collection is related to McClellan's
Civil War service, particularly the Yorktown and Antietam Campaigns.
Includes papers relating to the Mexican War, West point, expeditions to
Texas, Arkansas, and Washington Territory, travels in Europe, politics,
McClellan's campaign for President in 1864, and the Governorship of New
Jersey; and much family correspondence. Correspondents include Samuel L.
M. Barlow, Samuel S. Cox, George T. Curtis, Edward Everett, William B.
Franklin, Joseph E. Johnston, Louis Phillipe d'Orleans, Allan Pinkerton,
Fitz-John Porter, W. C. Prime, and William S. Rosecrans.
The Papers of Gideon Welles - Micro E 467.1 .W46 W46
1988
Women's Studies
The Papers of Anna E. Dickinson Microfilm E 415.9 .D48 A4 25
reels Note: Anna Dickinson was an orator during the Civil War era
and spoke on abolition and women's rights. The set contains:
"Correspondence, speeches, writings, plays, legal files, financial
papers, newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, and printed material, chiefly
1859-1911, relating to Miss Dickinson's activities on behalf of
abolition and women's rights and suffrage and to her career in the
theater. Other topics include the elections of 1872 and 1888, the
Republican Party, mental hospitals, the Civil War and Reconstruction,
and education. Correspondents include William B. Allison, Susan B.
Anthony, Henry Ward Beecher,Samuel Bowles, Noah Brooks, Benjamin F.
Butler, Frederick Douglass, Ellen Everett, William Lloyd Garrison,
Thomas Wentworth Higginson, Isabella Beecher Hooker, Wendell Phillips,
Samuel C. Pomeroy, Fanny Davenport Price, Whitelaw Reid, Carl Schurz,
Theodore Tilton, Mark Twain, Charles Dudley Warner, and John Greenleaf
Whittier ..." Finding tool: the first reel of microfilm includes a
guide to the collection (sorry, no print guide)
Elizabeth Cady Stanton / Susan B Anthony Papers Microfilm
HQ1413 .S689 P37 45 reels Finding tool: a guide to this
collection is located in the Reference Collection HQ 1413 .S689 P37
Guide, The Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony:
Guide and Index to the Microfilm Edition.
Other Civil War Era Materials
U. S. Sanitary Commission Records - Micro E 631 .A65 Guide:
MICRO E 631 .A65 Guide
State Labor Reports (from the end of the Civil War to
the beginning of the 20th century, organized by state) Microfiche HD
4835 .U5 Note: Labor statistics
Herndon-Weik Collection (Lincolniana) - includes
letters/documents by or to Abraham Lincoln, Lincoln law cases, and more Microfilm
E 457 .H538 15 reels - Finding tool: Reel #15 is an index to the
set
Papers of Abraham Lincoln Microfilm E 457.98 .L56
1959 97 reels Finding tool: The (print) index to this collection
is available in the Reference Collection at E 457.91 .I52 1960.
The Papers of Ephraim Squier (1821-1888) Microfilm F
1436 .S77 14 reels Note: Epharaim Squier was a diplomat to Central
America, an archaeologist in Latin America and the United States, and
was the chief editor for Frank Leslie's publishing house.
Congressional Record (and its predecessors, Register
of Debates in Congress and Congressional Globe), 1824-present Microfilm
[no call number] Many drawers
Annual Register: A Record of World Events, 1758-1889 Microcard Finding
tool: Microcard index to 1758-1819 only. Note: The focus of this
source is English affairs, and less full with other countries. Includes
survey articles on a year's developments, including religion, science,
law, the arts, economics, and it's obituary section is strong with
biographical information.
