Skip to main content

Civil War Era Studies: Home

Quick CWES Searches

Primary Sources

Accessible Archives 

Provides full-text articles from 18th and 19th century American newspapers, periodicals, and Pennsylvania county histories, covering material from 1728-1900.

American Civil War Collection 

Provides access to over 13,500 works published between 1860 and 1922 including broadsides, lithographs, maps, books, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, stereographs, and more from the American Antiquarian Society. The collection covers cultural, economic, military, political, and social aspects of the Civil War and beyond into the critical postwar period, a time in which modern interpretations of the conflict began to take shape.

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries 

Provides full-text of letters, diaries, and memoirs covering 1861-1865.

American History, 1493-1945 

A unique collection of primary source documents that brings to life American History from the times of the earliest settlers. It offers an overview of U.S. history alongside some deep research strands. It covers Colonial America, the Revolutionary Era, the New Nation, and Slavery and Abolition, with material from Lincoln's election to the end of the Second World War.

Army Official Records of the Civil War 

Provides a record of official military records for Union and Confederate armies from 1880-1901. Free access from Cornell University.

Civil War in Words and Deeds 

Regimental histories and personal narratives, compiled in the postwar period and early 20th Century period, chronicle the highs and lows of army life from 1861 through 1865.

Civil War Primary Source Documents 

Contains manuscript material from the New York Historical Society, chronicling the American Civil War from warfare on land, at sea, in hospitals and prison camps, and reactions and impressions of the War from the home front. Focuses on the War as it was fought from 1861 to 1865 and represents both Northern and Southern perspectives. It also contains contextual documents leading up to War and after its conclusion.

Confederate Maps - National Archives 

From NARA Record Group 109 - War Department Collection of Confederate Records: this series consists of maps created or collected by the Confederate States of America during the Civil War. The War Department acquired these maps by capture or surrender at the close of the War or by donation or purchase after the War. Included are manuscript and annotated published maps and drawings of campaigns and fortifications in various states. Most of the maps are untitled.

Making of America 

The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.

U.S. Army Center of Military History 

Provides access to materials drawn from the United States Army Military History records. Content includes photographs, military publications, unit histories, combat after action interview reports, audio/visual items, oral history materials, and more. Covers major conflicts from the Colonial Era up to the Global War on Terrorism.

Accessible Archives 

Provides full-text articles from 18th and 19th century American newspapers, periodicals, and Pennsylvania county histories, covering material from 1728-1900.

America's Historical Newspapers 

Features full-text images of over 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.

Harpweek 

Provides full-text access to Harper's Weekly, America’s leading 19th Century illustrated newspaper. Years of coverage: 1857-1912.

Historical Newspapers 

Provides full-text articles from the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1905-1975), Chicago Tribune (1858-1993), Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953), Los Angeles Times (1881-1993), New York Times (1851-2013), Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-Current), Washington Post (1877-2000), The Guardian (1821-2003), and The Observer (1791-2003).

Illustrated Civil War Newspapers & Magazines 

Provides access to HarpWeek’s collection of over 40 original 19th century newspapers and magazines published during the American Civil War period. Browse publications or search by date or topic. Includes 16 campaign newspapers and rare periodicals from Confederate, Union, Abolitionist and British presses. View news stories, illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature, advertisements

Savannah Historic Newspapers Archive 

The Savannah Historic Newspapers Archive spans the years 1809-1880 and includes the following titles:

Savannah Georgian, 1819-1856

Savannah Morning News, 1868-1880

Savannah Republican, 1809-1868

The Savannah Historic Newspapers database is a project of the Digital Library of Georgia as part of Georgia HomePLACE. The project is supported with federal LSTA funds administered by the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Georgia Public Library Service, a unit of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia.

Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera 

Provides a vivid visual history of a nation in crisis. Thousands of dramatic images from the fields of battle, politics, and general society allow researchers to experience the events of the war that tested and defined America.

American Civil War Collection 

Provides access to over 13,500 works published between 1860 and 1922 including broadsides, lithographs, maps, books, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, stereographs, and more from the American Antiquarian Society. The collection covers cultural, economic, military, political, and social aspects of the Civil War and beyond into the critical postwar period, a time in which modern interpretations of the conflict began to take shape.

Illustrated Civil War Newspapers & Magazines 

Provides access to HarpWeek’s collection of over 40 original 19th century newspapers and magazines published during the American Civil War period. Browse publications or search by date or topic. Includes 16 campaign newspapers and rare periodicals from Confederate, Union, Abolitionist and British presses. View news stories, illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature, advertisements

U.S. Army Center of Military History 

Provides access to materials drawn from the United States Army Military History records. Content includes photographs, military publications, unit histories, combat after action interview reports, audio/visual items, oral history materials, and more. Covers major conflicts from the Colonial Era up to the Global War on Terrorism.

GettDigital Collections

 

Find Civil War Sources found in Special Collections through the GettDigital pages linked below. Note: Not all sources found in special collections are listed on GettDigital.

Civil War Era (1830-1877)

Reunions and Reminiscences (1878-1938)

Civil War Legacy (1939-Present)