Skip to main content

Special Collections - World War II Sources: Help!

Locating Items

Published Materials:

Check MUSCAT Plus.

  • Special Collections stacks are closed. To acquire an item, make a request at the reference desk in the Special Collections Reading Room.
  • Some materials may be found in the main stacks and can circulate.

Non-published Materials:

Include photographs, maps, ephemera, and manuscripts housed in Special Collections.

These items do not circulate and are available only in Special Collections.

Consult an archivist for assistance with non-pubished materials.

FAQs

Where is Special Collections located?

Special Collections is on the fourth floor of Musselman Library.

When can I visit Special Collections?

You can use Special Collections when the Reading Room is open.

During the school year the Special Collections Reading Room is open for visitors:

Monday – 1:00pm – 5:00pm

Tuesday – 1:00pm – 5:00pm; 6:00pm – 9:00pm

Wednesday – 1:00pm – 5:00pm; 6:00pm – 9:00pm

Thursday – 1:00pm – 5:00pm

Friday – 1:00pm – 5:00pm

When classes are not in session (for example, during the summer, vacations, Reading Days, or finals week) the Special Collections Reading Room is not open.

What is the Reading Room?

The Reading Room is the section of Special Collections open for research. The Reading Room has tables and chairs for researchers, as well as some reference materials. Special Collections materials are not permitted to leave the Reading Room, thus all Special Collections research must be completed there.

What are the closed stacks?

Most of Special Collections’ holdings are kept in the closed stacks. Unlike the stacks in the library, you are not permitted to look for materials on your own in the Special Collections closed stacks. Instead, you can request an item from the staff on duty, who will then retrieve the item for you.

What should I bring with me?

Bring a pencil to write with because pens are not permitted. You can also bring your laptop computer, but not a scanner. Coats, purses, book bags, briefcases, binders, etc. are not permitted in the Reading Room, however, lockers are provided to store these items.

How do I cite materials from Special Collections?

In citing these materials, please cite the full name of the collection and of Special Collections. Example: The Joe Brown Collections, Special Collections/Musselman Library, Gettysburg College, Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. For additional examples, see our Citation Guide.

Can Special Collections items be found in MUSCAT Plus? 

Some materials (such as books and publications) are in MUSCAT Plus, so it is a good place to start looking for published materials. Special Collections is home to many materials that aren’t published (for instance, collections of letters, photographs, oral histories). These items are not in MUSCAT Plus. To find them, consult the subject guides or ask an archivist for assistance.

What if I haven't finished what I'm working on when Special Collections closes?

You cannot take Special Collections materials with you. However, the materials you are using may be placed on reserve and will be availble for you when you next can visit.

Special Collections Rules of Use

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Special Collections Guides
Contact:
Special Collections & College Archives Musselman Library
Gettysburg College
Box 420
300 N. Washington Street
Gettysburg, PA 17325

717-337-7002 - Director

717-337-7006 - Archivist

717-337-7014 - General Inquiries
Website

Questions?

Ask an Archivist

Special Collections Reading Room

Musselman Library, 4th Floor

All research visits are by appointment only

We have 6 research tables available for booking during our research hours

Mon, Thurs, Fri : 1 - 5 PM
Tues, Wed : 1 - 5  and 6 - 9 PM

Students, faculty, and staff can schedule research appointments using 

LibCal