Skip to main content

Special Collections - World War II Sources: Home

World War II in Special Collections: Suggested Materials

Special Collections maintains a variety of materials a researcher of World War II might want to investigate:

Oral History Collection:

Manuscript Collections pertaining to World War II

Archives and College Publications that may be of use:

Consult an archivist for assistance with these items.

GettDigital

World War II Collection

‚ÄčThis collection of World War II posters, photographs, letters, and ephemera features highlights from Special Collections at Gettysburg College, and is meant to exhibit both the bold patriotism and sobering realities faced by soldiers and civilians during this period.  The dynamism of political forces are evident in poster design and illustration, while items like the draft notice for 27 Gettysburg College students brings the viewer closer to an experience of the everyday. 

 

Albert Chance World War II Papers

A digital collection of the World War II Archive of Albert Chance who served in North Africa and Italy with the 360th AAA Searchlight Battalion. 

 

GettDigital Collections

Locating Items

Published Materials:

Check MUSCAT Plus.

  • Special Collections stacks are closed. To acquire an item, make a request at the reference desk in the Special Collections Reading Room.
  • Some materials may be found in the main stacks and can circulate.

Non-published Materials:

Include photographs, maps, ephemera, and manuscripts housed in Special Collections.

These items do not circulate and are available only in Special Collections.

Consult an archivist for assistance with non-pubished materials.

Search

Search Special Collections and College Archives

 

 

(Refresh your browser if you don't see the Search Box)