International and Global Studies: Statistics Sources

The Data Catalog helps make the World Bank's development data easy to find, download, use, and share. It includes data from the World Bank's microdata, finances and energy data platforms, as well as datasets from the open data catalog. There are different ways to access and download datasets.

Provides a data snapshot including economic and social indicators and environmental statistics

Provides 15 databases from different UN agencies covering agriculture, health, human development, communication technology, industry, population, refugees, trade and tourism.

Provides links to data and reports from the UN covering demographic and social statistics.

UNSD compiles and disseminates global statistical information, develops standards and norms for statistical activities, and supports countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems.

The IOM conducts and aids data production and research designed to guide and inform migration policy and practice. The website provides links to their data portal, data analysis center, and global data institute.

Find tabular data for countries and regions as well as demographic indicators, population pyramids and source information for countries.

The World Fact Book is produced annually by the CIA and provides current data for more than 250 countries and territories. Topics include political climate, natural resources, environment, ethnic groups, population, GDP, agriculture, industries, and more.

Provides statistics for European Union members that enable comparisons between countries and regions in the areas of economics, population and social conditions, industry and trade, agriculture, transportation, environment, energy, science, and technology.

The IMF provides access to macroeconomic and financial data, covering all member states, some non-member countries, the world, and some major areas. Monthly and quarterly data are available starting 1960. Annual data are available starting 1947.

OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers, podcasts and statistics and is the knowledge base of OECD's analysis and data.

The Polity IV Country Report series provides key regime data, regime trend graph, and a brief narrative description of executive recruitment, executive constraints, and political competition for each country covered by the Polity data series. The Polity IV Country Report format is no longer supported by the Polity Project and is no longer being updated.

Each country's narrative account provides a chronological explanation of the systemic process of changing political authority as captured in that country's Polity scores from 1946, or its date of independence, through 2018.

The Stockholm International Peace Research Institute is an independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament. Its databases include data on military expenditures, arms transfers and embargoes, peace operations and international relations.

A Google search engine that is dedicated to helping researchers locate online free-of-charge data.