Research Guides: International and Global Studies: Asia

Asia

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to Western-language books, articles, and book chapters for research on Asia, including citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in Asian Studies. Covers subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to present.

Asian Barometer
A comparative survey of 18 Asian states and territories. These include Japan, Mongolia, South Korea, Taiwan, Hong Kong, China, Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, Singapore, Indonesia, Malaysia, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Nepal.
Radio Free Asia
Radio Free Asia’s mission is to provide accurate and timely news and information to Asian countries whose governments prohibit access to a free press.
positions: asia critique
Offering a fresh approach to Asia scholarship, positions develops theoretical, philosophical, historical, and critical approaches in a forum open to debate. In expansive scholarly articles, commentaries, poetry, visual art, and political and philosophical debates, contributors consider a broad variety of pressing questions.
Asian Development Bank
ADB maximizes the development impact of its assistance by facilitating policy dialogues, providing advisory services, and mobilizing financial resources through co-financing operations that tap official, commercial, and export credit sources.
UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and Pacific
ESCAP is an inclusive intergovernmental platform in the Asia-Pacific region that promotes cooperation among its 53 member states and 9 associate members in pursuit of solutions to sustainable development challenges. One of the five regional commissions of the UN.
Asia-Pacific Economic Development (APEC)
Regional economic forum established in 1989 to leverage the growing interdependence of the Asia-Pacific. Aims to create greater prosperity for the region by promoting balanced, inclusive, sustainable, innovative and secure growth and by accelerating regional economic integration.

Central Asia Barometer
A regional, independent, non-profit institution for applied social research and analytics on topics of public interest. Measure the social, economic, and political atmosphere in central Asian countries.

China

Berkshire Encyclopedia of China
5-volume academic encyclopedia on all things China.
Visualizing China
Explore more than 8,000 digitised images of photographs of China taken between 1850 and 1950
China: Culture and Society
This resource makes available rare pamphlets on East Asia mostly in English. It also includes scholarly essays, an interactive chronology, and mini guides. This collection of literature on China and the Chinese in the Western world covers 1750-1929.

Japan

Japanese Web Archiving Project
Find COVID-19 reports, articles, and statistics published online by websites of the national and municipal governments, designated cities, cities, and towns, independent administrative corporations, semi-governmental corporations or agencies, universities, events, online periodicals, and more.
Japanese Academic Research Repository at the Institute of Developing Economies (ARRIDE)
A system for disseminating research results of the Institute of Developing Economies.

Other Sources

Asia-Pacific Economic Development (APEC)
Regional economic forum established in 1989 to leverage the growing interdependence of the Asia-Pacific. Aims to create greater prosperity for the region by promoting balanced, inclusive, sustainable, innovative and secure growth and by accelerating regional economic integration.

Journal of South Asian Literature
Contains articles on works and authors from all of South Asia’s literary traditions.
School of Oriental and African Studies - University of London
Provides South Asian resources by topic in cinema and literature.
Film Archives of the Centre of South Asian Studies - University of Cambridge
The Centre holds a sizable archive of films, providing a unique perspective of life in South Asia towards the end of the British Empire and in the first years of independence. Archived films cover a broad range of topics.
Digital Himalaya Project - University of Cambridge
A digitizing archival collections of ethnographic information from the Himalayan region. Sources include films, rare books, census, maps, music, manuscripts, and more.
Annual of Urdu Studies
Digital South Asia Library
The program offers a variety of sources on South Asia, including reference resources, statistics, images, and maps.
South Asia Resource Access on the Internet (SARAI)
A collection of archived resources on South Asian countries. Browse by country, organization, and topic.

ASEAN Stats Data Portal
Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)'s data portal offers datasets that can be filtered by indicator, country, and year.
Asia-Pacific Economic Development (APEC)
Regional economic forum established in 1989 to leverage the growing interdependence of the Asia-Pacific. Aims to create greater prosperity for the region by promoting balanced, inclusive, sustainable, innovative and secure growth and by accelerating regional economic integration.

Related Research Guide

Please refer to the East Asian Studies research guide for further guidance on this subject.