International and Global Studies: By Topics

The IMF provides access to macroeconomic and financial data, covering all member states, some non-member countries, the world, and some major areas. Monthly and quarterly data are available starting 1960. Annual data are available starting 1947.

One of IMF's principal statistical datasets. Contains data on most IMF members and other states. Provides approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries starting in 1948. Includes exchange rates, IMF accounts and the main global and country economic indicators.

The world's most comprehensive global trade data platform which aggregates detailed global annual and monthly trade statistics by product and trading partner for use by governments, academia, research institutes, and enterprises.

A series of analytical national accounts tables for over 200 countries prepared by the United Nations. The tables of the publication include analysis of data on Gross Domestic Product (GDP) by different structural components, for example, by type of expenditure, kind of economic activity, major area, region and country as well as per capita and as growth rates. Data available for download.

Provides research and policy analysis on global macroeconomic trends and prospects, frontier issues, emerging issues, and issues associated with countries in special situations. Data available for download.

Provides 15 databases from different UN agencies covering labor market, national accounts, price and production indices, international merchandise trade, development assistance, and finance.

Provides access to the official documents of the WTO's councils and committees as well as to a range of other resources, such as trade statistics, economic research, WTO publications and legal texts, videos, audio, and photos.

The Data Catalog helps make the World Bank's development data easy to find, download, use, and share. It includes data from the World Bank's microdata, finances and energy data platforms, as well as datasets from the open data catalog. There are different ways to access and download datasets.

Provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS), 1970-present (where data is available).

Provides compilation of cross-country comparable data on development and the fight against poverty. The database contains 1,400 time series indicators for 217 economies and more than 40 country groups, with data for many indicators going back more than 50 years.

Provides statistics for European Union members that enable comparisons between countries and regions in the areas of economics, industry and trade, agriculture, and other topics. Databases are organized by themes, such as international trade; general and regional statistics; and economy and finance.

The KOF Index of Globalization measures the three main dimensions of globalization: economic, social, and political. Data are available on a yearly basis for 158 countries from 2012 to the present. The Index - De Facto interactive chart/map covers 1970 to 3 years ago.

OECD.Stat includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies. Statistics include GDP, employment, income, population, education, labor, trade, finance and more.

A database with information on relative levels of income, output, input, and productivity, covering 183 countries between 1950 and 2019.

Offers indicator's methodological information, data tables, and map visualizations. The site also allows for data exploration by themes and topics.

The World Bank's Gender Data Portal makes the latest gender statistics accessible through compelling narratives and data visualizations to improve the understanding of gender data and facilitate analyses that inform policy choices. The site offers exploration by indicators, countries, data stories, topics, and data availability.

Includes selected indicators focusing on gender inequalities in education, employment, entrepreneurship, health, development, and governance, identifying where actions are most needed. The data cover OECD member countries, as well as partner economies including Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, and South Africa.

The United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund (UNICEF) is an agency of the United Nations responsible for providing humanitarian and developmental aid to children worldwide. The site offers a variety of resources, including data, and allows for data gathering by topic and country.

Provides reports and data with visualizations and guides.

A compilation of qualitative and quantitative information on over 294 indicators of women's status in 174 countries.

Provides access to data about American and international collections and includes features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers.

Provides a set of measures that systematically gauge the intersection between government and religion.

A series of reports offered by the U.S. Department of State on the status of religious freedom, government policies violating religious belief and practices of groups, religious denominations, and individuals, and U.S. policies promoting religious freedom in nearly every country and territory throughout the world.

The UN Climate Change (Un Framework Convention on Climate Change) is tasked with supporting the global response to the threat of climate change. The ultimate objective is to stabilize greenhouse gas concentrations to prevent dangerous human interference with the climate system, in a time frame which allows ecosystems to adapt naturally and enables sustainable development.

Disseminates global environment statistics on ten indicator themes compiled from a wide range of data sources. Data is available for download along with annual reports.

Provides indicators and datasets on environment-related issues.

Analysis of major environmental and development issues from the United Nations.

The Division for Sustainable Development Goals (DSDG) in the UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs acts as the Secretariat for the SDGs, providing substantive support and capacity-building for the goals and their related thematic issues, including water, energy, climate, oceans, urbanization, transport, science, and technology.

The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Provides an archive of information on global activities in agriculture and development in a single area and catalogs it exclusively by country. Topics include biotechnology, fisheries, forestry, nutrition, water, and food security.

The World Fact Book is produced annually by the CIA and provides current data for more than 250 countries and territories. Topics include political climate, natural resources, environment, ethnic groups, population, GDP, agriculture, industries, and more.

Provides statistics for European Union members that enable comparisons between countries and regions in the areas of economics, population and social conditions, industry and trade, agriculture, transportation, environment and energy and science and technology.

The Johns Hopkins Coronavirus Resource Center offers a regularly updated source of COVID-19 data and expert guidance. It collects and analyzes the data available on cases, deaths, tests, hospitalizations, and vaccines to help the public, policymakers, and healthcare professionals worldwide respond to the pandemic.

Provides visualizations and datasets to help understand the impact of COVID-19 internationally.

The dashboard provides data, data visualizations, and resources related to the COVID-19 global pandemic.

The world’s leading library on public health. It provides access to knowledge from WHO as well as to other sources of scientific literature produced around the world. Also provides scientific evidence and knowledge to low- and middle- income countries through a set of low-cost/high-use initiatives.

An independent monitoring and accountability body to ensure preparedness for global health crises.

Reports from the independent Human Rights Watch organization.

Established within New York University School of Law. A leading action-research hub for human rights organizations, advocates, and practitioners around the world.

Provides over 65,000 documents related to human rights, including treaties, full-text documents, international agreements, and more.

Seeks to facilitate the collection, dissemination, and use of accurate and reliable quantitative data in international relations. Data available may cover topics such as interstate disputes, membership in intergovernmental organizations, and international alliances.

The Stockholm International Peace Research Institute is an independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament. Its databases include data on military expenditures, arms transfers and embargoes, peace operations and international relations.

The Security Council has primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security. It takes the lead in determining the existence of a threat to the peace or act of aggression.

An independent, international not-for-profit think tank dedicated to managing risk and building resilience to promote peace, security, and sustainable development.

Data on conditions for peaceful relations between states, groups and people.

Data on international conflict with topics such as armed conflicts. Most of the data resources are updated and revised on an annual cycle and re-examined whenever new sources of information become available.

Extensive research guide provided by the UN DagHammarskjöld Library.

The IOM conducts and aids data production and research designed to guide and inform migration policy and practice.