Research Guides: International and Global Studies: Africa

Africa

African Journals Online (AJOL)
African Journals Online is a website hosting peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals. It currently provides the tables of contents, abstracts and full text of over 500 journals. There are titles in agriculture, health, science and technology, and humanities and social sciences from over 30 African countries.

Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from over 400 English language and multi-lingual journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or cover the African continent. Free access provided by AfricaBib.org.
Aluka: Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa This link opens in a new window
Includes materials about the liberation and independence movements in Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.
African Women's Bibliographic Database This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to books, essays, articles, government documents, theses, dissertations, conference papers, and videos on topics related to African women.

Northwestern University Library's 16th-20th Century Maps of Africa
Dictionary of African Biography
Provides a comprehensive overview of the lives of the men and women who shaped Africa’s history.
UN Economic Commission for Africa
Promotes the economic and social development of its member States, foster intra-regional integration, and foster international cooperation for Africa's development. One of the UN's five regional commissions.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African History This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, online research encyclopedia that also incorporates audio, visual, and video materials, as well as links to digitized archives and other primary sources. Covers African history, from the earliest stone tool–using hominids to the most recent religious movements, or from new interpretations of the Mau Mau movement in Kenya to recent reconsideration of the Rwanda genocide and its aftermath.

New Encyclopedia of Africa
Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism.
Dictionary of African Biography
Provides a comprehensive overview of the lives of the men and women who shaped Africa’s history.

Please refer to the Africana Studies research guide for complete guidance on this subject.