Skip to main content

Special Collections - Art Sources: Home

Guide to the Art sources found in Special Collections, including the Asian Art collection.

If you are new to using Special Collections and College Archives resources or need a refresher, consider taking a look at our Special Collections and College Archives Basics page. Understanding various types of collection materials and how they are organized will help you do better research! 

 

Search

Search Special Collections and College Archives

 

 

(Refresh your browser if you don't see the Search Box)

GettDigital

Asian Art
A digital archive showcasing half of the College's 2,000-item collection of Asian art, which includes ceramics, jewelry, jade, and other artifacts.

GettDigital Collections

Gettysburg College Art Collection via Artstor

Art in Special Collections: Suggested Materials for Research

Special Collections maintains a variety of materials a researcher in Art might want to investigate. 

Art in Special Collections includes local and international interests:

Samplings of Local/National Art and Manuscripts:

  • Anatomical drawings by Romeo Capozzi (American, 1901-1973), Trainer in Athletics, Gettysburg College, for 42 years
  • J.N. Choate Photo Collection from the Carlisle Indian School, ca. 1890s. 
  • Preparatory drawings by Ellen Elmes (American, Virginia/Pennsylvania region), the mural artist who painted Passages in the College Union Building Ballroom (1993-1995).
  • Oil sketches of the Gettysburg battlefield from the summer of 1866 by George L. Frankenstein (1825-1911) 

Samplings of other artworks:

 

Select Manuscript Collections pertaining to Art and Artists

Literary Magazines:

  • Gettysburg Review (1962-present)
  • Mercury (1894-present)

Please contact a member of the Special Collections staff for the best information and for access to these materials using either the "Ask an Archivist" tool  or the Email Me button.

Locating Items

Published Materials:

Check MUSCAT Plus.

  • Special Collections stacks are closed. To acquire an item, make a request at the reference desk in the Special Collections Reading Room.
  • Some materials may be found in the main stacks and can circulate.

Non-published Materials:

Include photographs, maps, ephemera, and manuscripts housed in Special Collections.

These items do not circulate and are available only in Special Collections.

Consult an archivist for assistance with non-published materials.

Need Help? Ask Us!

Special Collections Guides's picture
Special Collections Guides
Contact:
Special Collections & College Archives Musselman Library
Gettysburg College
Box 420
300 N. Washington Street
Gettysburg, PA 17325

717-337-7002 Director
717-337-7006 Archivist
Website