Research Guides: Sociology: SOC 298

Reviewing peer review

Poll Everywhere: What is peer review?

Is it peer reviewed?

Riegle-crumb, Catherine, Barbara King and Chelsea Moore. 2016. "Do they Stay Or do they Go? the Switching Decisions of Individuals Who Enter Gender Atypical College Majors." Sex Roles 74(9-10):436-449.

Park, Haeseong. 2024. "Korea's #MeToo Movement and the New Feminist Generation." Women's Studies Quarterly 52(1):301-303

Is this a scholarly, peer reviewed journal article?

Yes: 2 votes (20%)

No: 8 votes (80%)

Total Votes: 10

Park, In Y., and Marquisha L. Scott. 2022. "Understanding the Ethnic Self: A Qualitative Study of 1.5 Generation Korean American Immigrants." Journal of Ethnic and Cultural Studies 9(2):171-198.

Is this a scholarly, peer-reviewed journal article?

Yes: 8 votes (100%)

No: 0 votes (0%)

Total Votes: 8

Thompson, Stephen. 2021. "The Need and Desire for Inclusive Universities: A Perspective from Development Studies." Social Inclusion 9(3):27-31.

Is this a scholarly, peer-reviewed journal article?

Yes: 3 votes (33.33%)

No: 6 votes (66.67%)

Total Votes: 9

Find Books and Articles

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to sociology, social work, & other social sciences articles from 1963-present. Indexes over 5,300 journals.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Includes full text from over 500 social science journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to content across all disciplines. Search or browse books, journals, images, and primary sources.
MUSCAT Plus This link opens in a new window
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar broadly searches across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Advanced Search Strategies

Tutorial: Advanced Search Strategies for (Almost) Any Database

How can I perform more efficient keyword searches in library databases? How can I use Boolean operators, phrase searching, and truncation to get better search results?

Length: less than 5 minutes

Created by Musselman Library, Gettysburg College. Unless indicated otherwise, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.