History: HIST 412 - Birkner

Print and online
This 21-volume set includes "the most significant letters, memoranda, cables, and directives written or dictated by Eisenhower from the years prior to World War II through the full term of his presidency. This massive collection includes documents—many of them previously classified—from private collections and public archives in the U.S. and U.K., as well as papers from the Eisenhower Presidential Library." Source: Eisenhower papers

Microfilm, three sets on 79 reels; guide book
The Confidential File is one major component of the Eisenhower administration's central repository of information--the Eisenhower White House. This important archive is the main repository for correspondence, reports, memoranda, analyses, and studies composed by various executive agencies, cabinet members, and presidential advisers, Congress, and prominent public figures, for use by the President and senior officials in formulating policy.

Microfilm; 28 reels; guide book
This is the microfilm edition of the Dwight D. Eisenhower Diaries series located at the Eisenhower Library. It consists of more than 28,000 pages of material, arranged chronologically by month and year. These diaries and supporting documents shed light on virtually every issue that concerned Eisenhower during his presidency.

Microfilm, 10 reels; guide may be on reels
This collection includes minutes of cabinet meetings, official correspondence and memoranda, copies of discussion papers, department reports, the "Record of Actions" (a summary of the decisions Eisenhower approved at each meeting), the "Action Status Reports" (analyses of the implementation of cabinet decisions), and related papers of the President's staff.

Microfilm; 64 reels; guide book
This collection has a printed guide book and is divided into two parts: Eisenhower Administration (32 reels) and International Series (32 reels). Known within the Eisenhower Library as the Ann Whitman Files, these are the confidential papers kept under the President's immediate control for ready reference. Included are personal correspondence, diaries, telegrams, memoranda, reports, appointments, speeches, and topical files.

Microfilm; 2 reels, guide book
During his presidency, Eisenhower regularly held meetings with legislative leaders as a means of communicating with Congress and consolidating Republican congressional support for legislative proposals. This title includes all of the records of these conferences that are contained in the Legislative Meetings Series at the Eisenhower Library.

Microfilm; 14 reels; guide book
Copies of memos received and sent to and from the White House; newspaper clippings, and other miscellaneous items during the Eisenhower administration. Includes school desegregation. See the Black Freedom Struggle digital collection below.

Microfilm; 13 reels; guide book
Transcripts of tape recorded interviews with 271 people who knew and worked with John Foster Dulles, followed by John Foster Dulles and the Far East. The Guide and the listing of interviews at beginning of the film lists 281 people interviewed, but 10 transcriptions were not available at time of filming.

Book Collection - E835 .S58 1990
While somewhat dated, this bibliography details books, journal articles, and microfilm collections. As with all bibliographies, not all existing items are included. Use in combination with other sources.

Book Collection - E 835 .M35 2010
While largely a biographical dictionary, this title includes a detailed timeline, selected primary documents, and extremely detailed bibliographies on topics related to the Eisenhower presidency.

Book Collection E835 .D63 v.1-6
This series is arranged chronologically and contains reproductions of documents from the Eisenhower Library.
v. 1. The Eisenhower administration and the Brown v. Board of Education decision, 1954-1955 -- v. 2. President Eisenhower, collective security, and the Eisenhower Doctrine : The Baghdad Pact, 1953 -- v. 3. President Eisenhower, Operation CANDOR, and the Atoms for Peace Speech, April 1953-May 1954 -- v. 5. The Geneva Conference of 1954 -- v. 6. President Eisenhower, subversives, and the Communist Control Act

Book Collection - E835 .B685 v.1-2
This two volume document collection provides a survey of major events of Eisenhower's years in the White House through primary source material, most of which came from the Eisenhower Library.
Philosophy and objectives of the new administration -- Eisenhower in office: the first year -- The brief Republican ascendancy -- Eisenhower and the Democrats in Congress -- Global diplomacy -- Modern republicanism in action -- The crisis over civil rights -- Personal diplomacy -- The end of the great crusade.

Book Collection - E836 .A4 2013
This volume offers core selections from and analysis of primary source materials documenting the uneasy collaboration between two iconic Republican US presidents, Herbert Hoover and Dwight Eisenhower.

Book Collection - J80 .A283 Eisenhower 1953-1961
Eight volumes from this long series focus on the Eisenhower presidency, with each volume focusing on one or more years. "papers and speeches of the President of the United States that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary during the specified time period. The material is presented in chronological order, and the dates shown in the headings are the dates of the documents or events." Also online. See record

"We are going to have peace..." : V-E Day, November 21, 1945 -- "In the meantime, national security..." : November 22, 1945-September 23, 1946 -- "You are entitled to a better world..." : September 24, 1946-June 24, 1947 -- "Our schools must construct a foundation of understanding..." : June 25, 1947-February 7, 1948.

A small selection of heavily-requested documents. Organized by broad topic, such as Atoms for Peace, Brown v. Board of Education, the Rosenbergs, etc.

Interviews with members of the Eisenhower Administration form collections at the Eisenhower Presidential Library and Columbia University.

Musselman Library's catalog. Search the library's holdings for books, journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, DVDs, sound recordings, and more. TIP: Start with a keyword search and then continue your search using relevant subject headings.

The link above is to a digital collection at the University of Wisconsin. Print volumes are in the book collection at JX233.A3. Divided by year, then geographic region. Some volumes then divided by country.

The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. The series is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian and printed volumes are available from the Government Printing Office.

Beginning with President Hoover, each public papers volume "volume contains the papers and speeches of the President of the United States that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary during the specified time period. The material is presented in chronological order, and the dates shown in the headings are the dates of the documents or events."