Research Guides: History: US Government Documents

Military, Census, and Related Records

Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
A genealogy research tool providing access to resources for genealogical and historical research. Includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more.
Fold3 Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides access to official U.S. military records, combined with first-person bios, photos, letters, and other personal documents. With more than 470 million searchable records, coverage spans the Revolutionary War onward and includes content from national and regional archives, and also encompasses the African American Archives, Native American Archives, FBI Case File Archives, the UK National Archives, and more.

National Archives (US) - Catalog
The National Archives Catalog is the online portal to the records held at the National Archives, and information about those records.
National Archives (US) - Access to Archival Databases
You will find in the Access to Archival Databases (AAD) resource online access to records in a small selection of historic databases preserved permanently in NARA. Search by keyword, browse by category, or browse by subject.

United States Presidency

The American Presidency Project (UC Santa Barbara)
The APP collection includes a wide range of presidential documents, such as executive orders, fireside chats, interviews, letters, inaugural addresses, state of the union addresses, etc. Election and transition materials, as well as press briefings, are also included.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Beginning with President Hoover in 1929, this series includes presidential writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature. Volumes are also available online.

Musselman Library holds the published presidential papers of several US presidents in the book collection. Search Muscat Plus with the President's name as author.

US Government Documents

American State Papers, 1789-1838 This link opens in a new window
Legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817.
Army Official Records of the Civil War This link opens in a new window
Provides a record of official military records for Union and Confederate armies from 1880-1901. Free access from Cornell University.
United States Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 This link opens in a new window
Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes.
United States Congressional Serial Set Maps, 1817 - 1994 This link opens in a new window
The maps published as part of U.S. Congressional Serial Set publications.

Historical Congressional Documents from the Library of Congress

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates (Library of Congress)
Includes records relating to the Continental Congress, Statutes and Documents, American State Papers, U.S. Serial Set, Journals of Congress, and Debates of Congress.

Musselman Library holds the Debates and Proceedings of Congress, Register of Debates, Congressional Globe, and Congressional Record on microfilm. See the MUSCAT Plus holdings via the linked titles.

Specific Titles Are Listed Below:

Annals of Congress (Library of Congress)
Debates and Proceedings, 1789-1824
Register of Debates (Library of Congress)
Debates and Proceedings, 1824-1837
Congressional Globe (Library of Congress)
Debates and Proceedings, 1833-1873
Congressional Record (Library of Congress)
Debates and Proceedings, 1873-1875
Congressional Record (Congress.gov)
1995-Present may be found on Congress.gov