History: Newspapers and Magazines

Provides full-text articles from 18th and 19th century American newspapers, periodicals, and Pennsylvania county histories, covering material from 1728-1900.

Features full-text images of over 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.

This collection from the American Antiquarian Society (parts I-VI) provides a history of the American people and the growth of the nation from the colonial period to the twentieth century. Early periodicals in the collection focus on colonial life and the growing tensions between colonists and their oversea rulers leading up to the American Revolution. The Civil War and Reconstruction eras are well represented. Early twentieth century titles document the second Industrial Revolution, immigration, women’s rights, World War I, as well as fashion and music during the Roaring Twenties.

Provides comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century through the late 20th century. Content is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. Library has Series I, 1704-1877: Arrival in America through Reconstruction, and Series II, 1878-1975: Jim Crow through the Civil Rights Movement.

Fulltext historic American newspapers 1860-1922, plus information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. From the Library of Congress.

Provides full-text access to Harper's Weekly, America’s leading 19th Century illustrated newspaper. Years of coverage: 1857-1912.

The collection brings together a comprehensive set of local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and sympathizers, alongside key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by American Black, Catholic, and Jewish communities. Content continues to be digitized and added to the collection.

Provides comprehensive coverage of the Hispanic American experience from the early 18th century through the early 21st century. Content is sourced from more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals. Library has Series I, 1704-1942: Spanish Colonialism through World War II, and Series II, 1943-2009: Immigration, Labor Rights and Civil Rights.

Provides full-text articles from the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1905-1975), Chicago Tribune (1858-1993), Los Angeles Times (1881-1993), New York Times (1851-2013), Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-Current), Washington Post (1877-2000), The Guardian (1821-2003), and The Observer (1791-2003).

Provides access to HarpWeek’s collection of over 40 original 19th century newspapers and magazines published during the American Civil War period. Browse publications or search by date or topic. Includes 16 campaign newspapers and rare periodicals from Confederate, Union, Abolitionist and British presses. View news stories, illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature, advertisements.

Contains searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1600s. Use the archive to view, save and print newspapers from around the world. Includes the Gettysburg Times (1909 to 2 months ago).

Provides full text for more than 200 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 310 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

Provides access to a collection of 400 19th Century United States newspapers. Content includes full-text articles, advertisements, and illustrations from a wide range of urban and rural American newspapers.