Research Guides: History: Maps and Photographs

Musselman Library - Map Collections in Gett Digital

Stuckenberg Map Collection
The Stuckenberg Map Collection consists of three 17th century atlases and over 500 map sheets from the 16th through the 19th century
Lawrence P. Taylor Collection
Case folding maps representing city, country, regional, and world maps from the late 19th and early 20th century
Sanborn Maps
Gettysburg College's Special Collections holdings for the Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of Gettysburg in 1924. The Sanborn maps are part of the Map Collection at Gettysburg College housed in Special Collections. The Sanborn Map Collection is limited to campus use only.
Patricia Molen van Ee Map Collection
Consists of maps from the 17th through the 20th century.
Atlas Classica Maps
Maps of the classical world published in 1834.

David Rumsey Map Collection
Freely available on the web, David Rumsey Map Collection includes over 108,000 digitized maps. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century maps of North and South America, although it also has maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. Items range in date from 1700 to the 1950s.
United States Congressional Serial Set Maps, 1817 - 1994
The maps published as part of U.S. Congressional Serial Set publications.

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Free digitized maps from the University of Texas at Austin.

Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera
Provides a vivid visual history of a nation in crisis. Thousands of dramatic images from the fields of battle, politics, and general society allow researchers to experience the events of the war that tested and defined America.

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division Catalog
This collection of digitized materials includes thousands of digitized images from a range of materials, including lithographs, tintypes, ambrotypes, and illustrations from pictorial newspapers like Harper's Weekly or Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper.