HIST 337/LAS 337 - Greenwald - History - Research Guides at Musselman Library

Finding Books and Journal Articles

Library Catalogs

MUSCAT Plus This link opens in a new window
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.

To see have more options and see all results, sign in before searching.

Interdisciplinary

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. Content covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to content across all disciplines. Search or browse books, journals, images, and primary sources.
PRISMA This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for interdisciplinary study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Includes titles indexed in HAPI featuring Spanish, Portuguese and English language content.

History

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to world history articles, book chapters, books, and more on topics dating from 1450-present. Coverage excludes U.S. and Canada. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals are indexed. Years of coverage: 1954-present.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to articles on American and Canadian history. Articles date from 1964 – present. Includes some full-text links.

Primary Source Databases

Use these databases to identify primary source documents that relate to your topic. For additional resources, visit the Primary Sources Research Guide.

Newspapers and Magazines

America's Historical Newspapers
Provides full-text images of over 1,000 early American newspapers published between 1690-1922, including titles from all 50 states.

Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of the Hispanic American experience from the early 18th century through the early 21st century. Content is sourced from more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals. Library has Series I, 1704-1942: Spanish Colonialism through World War II, and Series II, 1943-2009: Immigration, Labor Rights and Civil Rights.
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Fulltext historic American newspapers 1860-1922, plus information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. From the Library of Congress.

Texas Borderlands Newspaper Collection (University of North Texas)
Includes newspapers (1859-2010) published from counties on or near the Texas-Mexico border.
Historic Mexican and Mexican-American Press (University of Arizona)
The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.

Digital Collections

Adam Matthew Collections

Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
Provides a large array of unique documents from multiple archives that captures the lives, experiences and colonial encounters of people living at the edges of the Anglophone world from 1650-1920. Content covers the various colonial frontiers of North America plus the settlers of Southern Africa, Australia and New Zealand.
Adam Matthew Explorer This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to the complete Adam Matthew Digital portfolio of primary source content published through 2018, including 88 collections as well as the AM Explorer cross-search platform.
American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window
A unique collection of primary source documents that brings to life American History from the times of the earliest settlers. It offers an overview of U.S. history alongside some deep research strands. It covers Colonial America, the Revolutionary Era, the New Nation, and Slavery and Abolition, with material from Lincoln's election to the end of the Second World War. Materials are from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. Access works best using Chrome browser.

Other Relevant Collections

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment
Provides full-text sources related to Native Americans and their cultures and environment, and their encounters with Europeans from 1601-2003. Includes over 100,000 pages of material and 1,482 authors.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to letters and diaries of over 1,325 North American women. Materials date from colonial times - 1950.
Indigenous Peoples: North America This link opens in a new window
Provides access to primary source archival documents—maps, periodicals, photographs, manuscripts, reports, drawings and sketches, monographs, legal materials, organizational records, and population census records—from both American and Canadian institutions. Collection includes direct-from-source newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations, as well as indigenous-language materials such as dictionaries, bibles, and primers. Content covers the history of American Indian tribes from the 16th century into the 20th century.

The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents
Available in the book collection (F1030.7 .Z895 1959) or online with this link, this 73 volume set includes reports that detail the travels and explorations of Jesuit missionaries in New France, 1610-1791. Volumes include English translations from the French, Latin, and Italian originals. Volume 73, the index, is essential to identify materials by topic.

Public Online Collections

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Freely accessible web site of sources from the Library of Congress special collections that consist of primary source and archival materials relating to US history and culture.
Archives of Women of the Southwest (Southern Methodist University)
Contains "letters, diaries, and journals of women who settled in or traveled through the West in the late 19th and early 20th centuries and the papers of 20th and 21st century women who have influenced women’s roles in society and shaped the culture, arts, business, social issues, law, and politics in Texas and the Southwest."

Maps

David Rumsey Map Collection
The collection includes atlases, globes, wall maps, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials including pocket, wall, children's, and manuscript maps. Items range in date from around 1550 to the present.
GettDigital - Patricia Molen van Ee Map Collection
A small selection of maps from this collection, which consists of maps from the 17th through the 20th century. Significant focus on the American West.
GettDigital - Stuckenberg Map Collection
The Stuckenberg Map Collection consists of three 17th century atlases and over 500 map sheets from the 16th through the 19th century. Browse by topic (North America) to limit your results.

Special Collections & College Archives

Hours: Monday-Friday (1-5 pm); Tuesday and Wednesday also 6-9 pm

Questions?: You may submit your question online or in-person.

Appointments: Schedule your appointment online in advance to have items pulled and ready for you.

Books and other published materials will appear in the catalog with the Special Collections location. This could include travelogues, published letter diary collections, government documents, cartoons, etc. You may request to view anything in the collection.

Borrowing Materials from Another Library

If the library doesn't have an item you want, you can request to borrow a copy from another library via our interlibrary loan service.

Articles (PDF) usually arrive within 24 hours. Books may take 4-7 days. A book chapter (PDF) may arrive in 1-2 days.

small button with the words Gett It! For articles, use the Gett It button in databases to see if we have access. If not, you will see an option to sign into Muscat Plus and submit your request.

For books and book chapters, search Muscat Plus. If you don't see what you want, click "search other libraries" and then submit your request with the "request from other libraries" link on the results page. Or, you can use the interlibrary loan form at the top of Muscat Plus.

More directions for requesting books/book chapters and journal articles are on the library website.

Citation with Turabian or Chicago Style

For more information about citation styles and citation software, see the citation guide.

The Chicago Manual of Style
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017
ISBN: 9780226287058
Publication Date: 2017, 17th edition
A print copy is available at The Research Help Desk on the library's main level. Musselman Library also subscribes to the online edition, which is linked below.

Chicago Manual of Style This link opens in a new window
The online version of the Chicago Manual. Provides information on manuscript preparation, punctuation, spelling, quotations, captions, tables, abbreviations, references, bibliographies, notes, and indexes, with sections on journals and electronic media.

Purdue OWL Chicago Guide (Purdue University)
Provides examples of most commonly cited items, as well as example papers for formatting.

The online Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide provides examples for commonly cited sources in both Author-Date and Notes and Bibliography styles.

History: HIST 337/LAS 337 - Greenwald

Questions? Ask me!