Music: Diversify Your Repertoire

Compilation of original works by composers in the African Diaspora. Search by composer or repertoire. Presented by Dr. Louise Toppin and Videmus

A community of composers and colleagues who strive to support and celebrate the work of women composers through advocacy and education.

This site gives underrepresented composers a platform to have their music heard. Composers that submit works to … And We Were Heard are matched with top-notch
wind bands and engage in collaborative recording sessions. The resulting audio tracks are hosted on our site along with innovative ideas of how to support diverse voices in music.

Wiki list of Black composers of wind band music.

Women and gender-marginalized composers repertoire database. Addresses gender disparity and aids those who wish to diversify classical music programming. Houses over 8,000 historical works by 1200 nonliving women composers, all available for free.

A database of African/Black, Latinx, Asian/South Asian, Arab/Middle Eastern, and Native American, Women, and Gender Non-Conforming Composers

The Institute for Composer Diversity is committed to the celebration, education, and advocacy of music created by composers from historically underrepresented genders, racial, ethnic, and cultural heritages, and sexual orientations as well as disabled composers.

Includes scores, lesson materials and score annotations, music theory examples, and more

Includes tabs for women composers, composers of color, and LGBTQIA+ composers. Compiled by Christian Folk. To add pieces, please email chrisfolk13@gmail.com

Learn stories of so many neglected women composers. Contains live interviews with women composers making their mark in the music world.

from site: "A directory of all [past] historic Black composers currently known by MBC"

The Institute for Composer Diversity works to encourage the discovery, study, and performance of music written by composers from underrepresented groups.

An affiliate member of the International Alliance for Women in Music, the Society's mission is to promote interest in Kapralova and other women in music through scholarly research, education, and special projects, often in partnership with schools of music, public broadcasters, publishing houses, and other organizations.

The Kassia Database is a resource geared toward aiding singers, instructors of voice, pianists, researchers, and music lovers to discover and celebrate art song by women composers. The database includes songs from the Baroque period through the 21st century, and have been categorized by level, voice type, language, composer, and composer dates

from site: " MBC’s Living Composers Directory is designed for those seeking to commission; for performers, conductors, and concert programmers seeking existing music; and for other researchers and scholars of contemporary classical music." Email and websites provided when available.

Focuses on women making various kinds of experimental/avant garde music. Some of these artists may also work within more mainstream forms, but they are included here because of their other work that is more challenging.

Dedicated to helping to bring greater diversity to the ranks of classical music performers, composers, and audiences by making the music of Black composers available to everyone. MBC’s Living Composers Directory is designed for those seeking to commission; for performers, conductors, and concert programmers seeking existing music; and for other researchers and scholars of contemporary classical music

Discover solo and chamber repertoire for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, saxophone, and horn. The directories focus specifically on the work of women, transgender & gender non-conforming individuals, and/or Black, Indigenous, or persons of color

Wiki database, searchable by a variety of criteria, including ethnicity and gender.

We celebrate the vast range of orchestral music by women, and encourage orchestras to program it! All around us people are suddenly aware of long-ingrained sexist practices, and questioning their entrenched status. We work to reveal the centuries of music by women, much of it lost to history due to gender bias – and help provide information and resources to make that music available.

List of the non-idiomatic choral music of black composers. This refers to the original concert music that is not part of the traditional idiomatic canon associated with black musicians. That canon includes spirituals, gospel, jazz, hip-hop, and rap among others. There will be pieces that may be based on spirituals or gospel tunes but are, at their core, original songs.

An introduction to and survey of repertoire by composers of color and native-born South American composers from Brazil, Peru, Cuba, Mexico, Guatemala, and Bolivia from 1600 to 1800, with an emphasis on villancicos, cantatas, and other works for voices and chamber ensemble.

This repository of examples by composers of color for use in the theory and aural skills curriculum. The music is categorized by unit, topic, and subtopic. The repository is crowdsourced by music theorists.

This is a database of excerpts and complete musical compositions by women composers. The music is categorized by theoretical concept for use in music education. Composers include: women composers, LGBTQ composers, composers of color, and Non-Western European composers.

According to the site, "We strive to elevate women composers and theorists by advocating for the study and performance of their works and providing high-quality easily-accessible resources that bring light to the often overshadowed contributions of women in music."