Art & Art History: Citations and Help

Below are examples of a few major types of book citations. The way that these citations appear should be the format you use in your bibliography.

Book by One Author:

• Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
• Example: Pollan, Michael. The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals. New York: Penguin, 2006.

Book by Multiple Authors:

• Lastname, Firstname, and Firstname Lastname. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
• Example: Ward, Geoffrey C., and Ken Burns. The War: An Intimate History, 1941–1945. New York: Knopf, 2007.

Translated Book by One Author:

• Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Translated by Firstname Lastname. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
• Example: Cortázar, Julio. Hopscotch. Translated by Gregory Rabassa. New York: Pantheon Books, 1966.

Chapter or Other Part of a Book:

• Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Chapter, Article, or Short Piece." In Title of Book, edited by Firstname Lastname, Page Number. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
• Example: Kelly, John D. “Seeing Red: Mao Fetishism, Pax Americana, and the Moral Economy of War.” In Anthropology and Global Counterinsurgency, edited by John D. Kelly, Beatrice Jauregui, Sean T. Mitchell, and Jeremy Walton, 67–83. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2010.

Electronic Book:

If a book is available in more than one format, cite the version you consulted. For books consulted online, list a URL. If there are no fixed page numbers are available, you can include a section title or a chapter or other number.

• Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication. Electronic Format.
• Example: Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Penguin Classics, 2007. Kindle edition.
• Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication. Electronic Format. Date Accessed. http://www.BookURL.com (or doi if available).
• Example: Kurland, Philip B., and Ralph Lerner, eds. The Founders’ Constitution. Chicago: University ofChicago Press, 1987. Accessed February 28, 2010. http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/.

Below are examples of a few major types of article citations. The way that these citations appear should be the format you use in your bibliography.

Article in Print:

• Journal Title Volume numer (xx), Issue number (no. x) (Year of Publication): Page Number(s).
• Example: MacDonald,  Susan Peck. "The Erasure of Language." College Composition and Communication 58, no. 4 (2007): 585-625.

Electronic Article:

• Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Journal Title Volume numer (xx), Issue number (no. x) (Year of Publication): Page Number(s). Date Accessed. http://www.ArticleURL.com (or doi if available).
• Example: Kossinets, Gueorgi, and Duncan J. Watts. “Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network.” American Journal of Sociology 115 (2009): 405–50. Accessed February 28, 2010. doi:10.1086/599247.

Below are examples of how to cite newspapers and magazines. The way that these citations appear should be the format you use in your bibliography.

Newspaper in Print:

• Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Newspaper Name, Date of Publication. 
• Example: Caramanica, Jon. "A Farewell to Twang: Review Taylor Swift's '1989'." New York Times, October 23, 2014.

Electronic Newspaper:

• Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Newspaper Name, Date of Publication. Date Accessed. http://www.NewspaperURL.com.
• Example: Stolberg, Sheryl Gay, and Robert Pear. “Wary Centrists Posing Challenge in Health Care Vote.” New York Times, February 27, 2010. Accessed February 28, 2010. http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/28/us/politics/28health.html.

Magazine in Print:

• Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Magazine Name, Date of Publication.
• Example: ​Macel, Emily. “Beijing’s Modern Movement.” Dance Magazine, February 2009.

Electronic Magazines:

• Name, Date of Publication. http://www.ArticleURL.com.
• Example: Young Smith, Barron. Green Room. Slate, February 4, 2009. http://www.slate.com/id/2202431/.

Below are examples of how to cite films and television broadcasts. The way that these citations appear should be the format you use in your bibliography. Citations of video recordings will vary according to the nature of the material. All facts relevant to identifying the item should be included. Indexed scenes are treated as chapters and cited by title or by number.

Online Video:

• LastName, FirstName. Title of Film. Name of Publisher, Date of Work, Format of Film. From Source, Collection Name. Medium, Duration of film. http://www.FilmURL.com.
• Example: Edison, Thomas A. Sleighing Scene. Thomas A. Edison, Inc., 1898, 35mm film. From Library of Congress, America at Work, America at Leisure: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915. RealMedia, MPEG, Quick Time video, 47 sec. http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.mbrsmi/ lcmp002.m2a38968

Motion Picture:

• Title of Movie. Directed by Name of Director. Original Release Date (if applicable). Location of Distributor: Name of Distributor, Release Date, Medium.
• Example: Rear Window. Directed by Alfred Hitchcock. 1954. Universal City, CA: Universal Pictures, 2001, DVD.

Television Episode:

• Title of Program. "Title of Episode." Episode number (if applicable). Directed by Name of Director. Written by Name of Writer. Narrated by Name/s of Narrator/s (if applicable). Performed by Name of Performer/s (if applicable). Name of Network, Original Air Date.
• Example: Journey to Planet Earth. "Land of Plenty, Land of Want." Directed by Hal Weiner. Written by Hal Weiner. Narrated by Kelly McGillis. PBS, 1999.

Below are examples of how to cite websites. The way that these citations appear should be the format you use in your bibliography. Sometimes websites may not have all of the necessary citation information available. If information is missing, skip that part of the citation.

Website:

• Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Web Page." Publishing Organization or Name of Website. Date of Publication and/or Access Date. http://www.WebsiteURL.com.
• Example: Mister Jalopy. “Effulgence of the North: Storefront Arctic Panorama in Los Angeles.” Dinosaurs and Robots. Last modified January 30, 2009. http://www.dinosaursandrobots.com/2009/01/effulgence-of-north-storefront-arctic.html.
• Example: "Illinois Governor Wants to 'Fumigate' State's Government.” CNN.com. Last modified  January 30, 2009. http://edition.cnn.com/2009/POLITICS/01/30/illinois.governor.quinn/.
• Example: “Band.” Casa de Calexico. Accessed January 30, 2009. http://www.casadecalexico.com/band.

Below are examples of how to cite images. The way that these citations appear should be the format you use in your bibliography. Also, be sure to check the image's republication/redistribution rights. Some images may be fine to inlcude in an academic paper for a class but not okay to put in a PowerPoint presentation that will be presented at a conference. When in doubt contact the owner of the image to clarify how they would like their image to be used.

Work of Art:

• Artist's Lastname, Firstname. Date of Creation. Title of Work. Museum Name, Museum Location.
• Example: Hopper, Edward. 1929. Railroad Sunset. Whitney Museum of American Art, New York.

Online Image:

• Author's Lastname, Firstname. Title of Work. Format of Work. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher, Date of Work. From Source, Collection Name. Medium. http://ImageURL.com.
• Example: Lange, Dorothea. Destitute Pea Pickers in California. Mother of Seven Children. Age Thirty-Two. Nipomo, California. Photograph. 1936. From Library of Congress, America from the Great Depression to World War II: Black-and-White Photographs from the FSA-OWI, 1935-1945. JPEG and TIFF files. http://www.loc.gov/pictures/resource/fsa.8b29516/.

Below are examples of how to cite several special items. The way that these citations appear should be the format you use in your bibliography.

Book Review:

• Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Review." Review of Title of Origional Work, by Author Firstname Lastname. Publisher Date of Publication. (URL if online).
• Example: Kamp, David. “Deconstructing Dinner.” Review of The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals, by Michael Pollan. New York Times, April 23, 2006, Sunday Book Review. http://www.nytimes.com/2006/04/23/books/review/23kamp.html.

Thesis/Dissertation:

• Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Thesis/Dissertation." Master's thesis OR PhD diss., Academic Institution, Date of Publication.
• Example:Choi, Mihwa. “Contesting Imaginaires in Death Rituals during the Northern Song Dynasty.” PhD diss., University of Chicago, 2008.

Published or Broadcasted Interview:

• Lastname, Firstname. Title of Interview. By Interviewer Firstname Lastname. Medium of Interview (Newspaper, Magazine, Radio, etc.) Publication and/or Broadcasting Date.
• Example:Rodriguez, Carrie. Acoustic Café. By Cuz Frost. 88.3WGWG FM, November 20, 2008.

Sound Recording:

• Name of Composer, Conductor, or Performer (depends on who you emphasize in your paper). Title of Recording. Name of Composer, Conductor, and/or Performer (if they are not listed at the beginning of the bibliography entry). Name of Recording Company Music Number, Copyright Date, Medium. Recording Date or Published Date.
• Example: Dylan, Bob. All Along the Watchtower. Jimi Hendrix. MCA MCAD-10895, 1993, compact disc. Previously released in 1968.

Podcast:

• Lastname, Firstname. Title of Podcast. Podcast audio. Medium. Date Accessed. http://www.PodcastURL.com.
• Example:Curtis, Ben, and Marina Diez. Heading to the Costa de la Luz - Notes from Spain Podcast 71. Podcast audio. Notes from Spain: Travel-Life-Culture. MP3, 27:8. Accessed March 30, 2009. http://www.notesfromspain.com/2008/05/22/heading-to-the- costa-de-la-luz-notes-from-spain-podcast-71/.

Below are a few examples of footnotes. Footnotes are numbered consecutively beginning with 1 and appear in the text of you paper immediately after you reference information from another piece of work. In the text of your paper, footnotes numbers are superscript. In the footnotes, note numbers are regular size and not raised

The first time that you reference a source use a full footnote and for each subsequent time that the same source is noted use a shortened footnote. If you are referencing the same source two footnotes in a row and both footnotes appear on the same page you can use "Ibid." If the page numbers being cited are different, then give the new page numbers. If the pages are the same, use only Ibid.

If a sentence contains information from more than one source, cite all of the sources by separating each citation with a semicolon and listing the sources in the same order as they are mentioned in the text.

For more examples of footnotes check outThe Chicago Manual Style of Citation and Purdue Owl.

Book by Multiple Authors:

• Full Footnote: Firstname Lastname and Firstname Lastname, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), Page Number(s).
• Full Example: Geoffrey C. Ward and Ken Burns, The War: An Intimate History, 1941–1945 (New York: Knopf, 2007), 52.
• Shortened Footnote: Lastname and Lastname, Title of Book, Page Number(s).
• Shortened Example: Ward and Burns, War, 59–61.

Electronic Article:

• Full Footnote: Firstname Lastname, "Title of Article," Journal Title Volume number (Year of Publication), Issue number, Date Accessed. http://www.ArticleURL.com (or doi if available).
• Full Example: Gueorgi Kossinets and Duncan J. Watts, “Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network,” American Journal of Sociology 115 (2009): 411, accessed February 28, 2010, doi:10.1086/599247.
• Shortened Footnote: Lastname and Lastname, "Title of Article," Page Number(s).
• Shortened Example: Kossinets and Watts, “Origins of Homophily,” 439.

Newspaper in Print:

• Full Footnote: Firstname Lastname, "Title of Article," Newspaper Name, Date of Publication. 
• Example: Jon Caramanica, "A Farewell to Twang: Review Taylor Swift's '1989'." New York Times, October 23, 2014.
• Shortened Footnote: Lastname, "Title of Article."
• Shortened Example: Caramanica,"A Farewell to Twang: Review Taylor Swift's '1989'."

Motion Picture:

• Full Footnote: Title of Movie, directed by Name of Director. (Original Release Date (if applicable); Location of Distributor: Name of Distributor, Release Date), Medium.
• Full Example: Rear Window, directed by Alfred Hitchcock (1954; Universal City, CA: Universal Pictures, 2001), DVD.
• Shortened Footnote: Title of Movie
• Shortened Example: Rear Window.

Website:

• Full Footnote: "Title of Web Page." Date of Publication and/or Access Date. http://www.WebsiteURL.com.
• Full Example: “Google Privacy Policy,” last modified March 11, 2009, http://www.google.com/intl/en/privacypolicy.html.
• Shortened Footnote: "Title of Web Page."
• Shortened Example: “Google Privacy Policy.”

Work of Art:

• Full Footnote: Artist's Firstname Lastname, Title of Work, Date of Creation, Museum Name, Museum Location.
• Full Example: Edward Hopper, Railroad Sunset, 1929, Whitney Museum of Art, New York.
• Shortened Footnote: Artist Lastname, Title of Work.
• Shortened Example: Railroad Sunset.

Thesis/Dissertation:

• Full Footnote: Firstname Lastname, "Title of Thesis/Dissertation" (Master's thesis OR PhD diss., Academic Institution, Date of Publication).
• Full Example: Mihwa Choi, “Contesting Imaginaires in Death Rituals during the Northern Song Dynasty” (PhD diss., University of Chicago, 2008).
• Shortened Footnote: Lastname, "Title of Thesis/Dissertation." (Note: You can shorten the title if it is more than four words long.)
• Shortened Example: Choi, “Contesting Imaginaires.”

Personal Communication:

Note: Personal communications such as face to face conversation, telephone conversation, text messages, etc. are not typically included in the bibliography. They may be cited in the running text of your paper or given a footnote.

• Full Footnote: Firstname Lastname, format of communication, Date of communication.
• Full Example: Sarah Jones, e-mail message to author, June 22, 2006.