Museum and gallery websites are good resources for the study of art and art history. Here are a few museums that the Art and Art History Department faculty recommends.
Baltimore, MD. Seven millennia of art from cultures around the world at the Walters’ Virtual Museum. Browse the Online Collection by category, medium, date, place and creator.
New York, NY. Permanent collection contains more than two million works. Online collection features highlights of work found in the museum, as well as high quality digital images and encyclopedic information about nearly 400,000 works of art.
New York, NY. Modern and contemporary art including works of architecture and design, drawing, painting, sculpture, photography, prints, illustrated books and artist’s books, film and electronic media.
New York, NY. Nexus for artists of African descent and for work that has been inspired and influenced by black culture.
Philadelphia, PA. Focus on European and American paintings, prints, drawings, and decorative arts. Online Collections feature images and information on over 85,000 objects from the Museum's collection.
Washington, DC. Includes paintings, drawings, prints, photographs, sculpture, medals, and decorative arts; depicts development of Western Art from the Middle Ages to the present.
Washington, DC. Home to some of the world’s most important holdings of Asian art.
Washington, DC. Three centuries of American art including photography, folk and self-taught art, African American art, Latino art, and video games. Largest collection of New Deal art; contemporary craft and media arts.
Washington, DC. One of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts including objects, photographs, archives and media covering the entire Western Hemisphere from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego.
United Kingdom. One of the last European royal collections to remain intact; comprised of more than a million paintings and decorative objects which provide a valuable record of the personal tastes of kings and queens over the past 500 years.
The Google Art Project is an online art museum/database intended to host the world’s cultural treasures online. Museums large and small, classic and modern, world-renowned and community-based from over 40 countries have contributed more than 40,000 high-resolution images of works ranging from oil on canvas to sculpture and furniture.