Skip to Main Content

Art & Art History: ARTH 131

9/26 In-Class Activity

Collections to Select Works

Professor Sun recommends that you select works from the following collections:

ARTstor is a nonprofit digital image library with over a million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.

  • You can use the advanced search to focus on a specific subject, time period, or geographic area.
  • Find something you like? You can save the image.
  • Don't forget to cite images you use! You can export citations from ARTstor into RefWorks, or e-mail them to yourself.

Asian Art @ Gettysburg College

If the collections above do not interest you, you may also select artwork from Gettysburg College's Asian Art Collection in Special Collections:

Find Background Information

Search encyclopedias and other reference material to find background information on time periods, symbolism, materials, etc. Pay particular attention to the bibliographies or further readings for possible sources.

Find Books

Use MUSCAT Plus to find books and more that we have at Musselman Library. You can use WorldCat to search for and request books from other libraries, but be sure to leave yourself enough time for the book to be delivered.

Aren't sure where to find a book in the library?  Note the book's call number that is listed in MUSCAT Plus, and then check the call number signs posted at the research help desk and at each floor's entrance for call number locations. Or use the Request link in MUSCAT Plus and let us pull your materials for you!

Find Journal Articles

Cite Your Sources

The Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition is recommended when citing sources for this class. There is a copy at the Research Help Desk  (Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2017). 

For most citation questions, The Chicago Manual of Style Quick Guide (Notes-Bibliography) will provide examples and information for citing sources.

The University of Edinburgh provides a style guide for formatting non-English words, specifically those in Chinese.

For more information on citation, see our citation guide and contact Hannah (tkrauss@gettysburg.edu) or visit the Research Help Desk.

For image citations and captions, see:

 

14.235: Citing Paintings, Photographs, and Sculpture

14.158: Citing Illustrations and Tables

3.22: Formal Titles in Captions

Citing AI for Brainstorming

The Chicago Manual of Style has given guidance on how to cite ChatGPT and other AI when used for brainstorming purposes. You can also visit the guide on Citing Generative AI for information. Please contact Hannah (tkrauss@gettysburg.edu) or your professor with any questions.

Annotated Bibliography

For instructions on how to write an annotated bibliography, see the explanation and examples in Diana Hacker's A Writer's Reference, pp. 357-360.

Subjects: Art & Art History