Skip to Main Content

Special Collections - American History Sources: Colonial Era

Colonial Era Resources

Colonial Era Resources - Books

 

To browse MUSCAT Plus for books and materials found in Special Collections, use the search bar below to search by keyword or subject heading.

Search the Library Catalog

 

 

Hardinge Collection

Collector Harlowe DeForest Hardinge's collection of over 300 titles on the Colonial Period and the Revolutionary War was donated to Special Collections in 2009 after Professor Tim Shannon alerted Special Collections staff to Hardinge's notice about moving his collection in a history newsletter. Hardinge visited the college and decided it was the perfect place for his books to live. All books in the Hardinge Collection have the bookplate "H. DeForest Hardinge Collection," which can be found under provenance in MUSCAT Plus.

Browse the Hardinge Collection in MUSCAT Plus

 

Colonial Era Resources - GettDigital Collections

 

GettDigital is an online portal to the digital collections created by Special Collections and College Archives, Gettysburg College. These digital primary sources are a sampling of items housed in Special Collections and College Archives. Our GettDigital Collections support curricular needs, promote College history, and provide online access to a selection of images, videos, documents, and artifacts on a variety of digital platforms.

 

View the finding aid for MS-195: Early American Documents

Colonial Era Resources - Manuscript Collections

 

Manuscript Collections

A Manuscript Collection is a grouping of materials which focuses on an individual, group of people, or organization. Materials can include letters, diaries, photographs, scrapbooks, and other memorabilia. Processed Manuscripts are stored in Special Collection's closed stacks and can be requested at the Reference Desk in our Reading Room.

Browse Finding Aids for the Manuscript Collections

 

  • Early American Document Collection. MS-195
    • The Early American Document Collection contains broadsides, manuscripts, and other material from the colonial era and early republic. The material covers a broad range of subjects, mostly pertaining to administration in colonial Philadelphia, and the American Revolution.

Colonial Era Resources - Periodicals