To browse MUSCAT Plus for books and materials found in Special Collections, use the search bar below to search by keyword or subject heading.
A sampling of books found in Special Collections that can be used as primary sources
The history of the American revolution by Memoirs of the life and writings of Benjamin Franklin by Official letters to the Honorable American Congress, written, during the war between the United Colonies and Great Britain, by His Excellency George Washington, commander in chief of the Continental forces; now president of the United States. Copied, by s by A sampling of books found in Special Collections that can be used as secondary sources
Historical notes on the employment of Negroes in the American Army of the Revolution by A season of youth : the American Revolution and the historical imagination by The women of the American revolution by 
Hardinge CollectionCollector Harlowe DeForest Hardinge's collection of over 300 titles on the Colonial Period and the Revolutionary War was donated to Special Collections in 2009 after Professor Tim Shannon alerted Special Collections staff to Hardinge's notice about moving his collection in a history newsletter. Hardinge visited the college and decided it was the perfect place for his books to live. All books in the Hardinge Collection have the bookplate "H. DeForest Hardinge Collection," which can be found under provenance in MUSCAT Plus.
Browse the Hardinge Collection in MUSCAT Plus
A Manuscript Collection is a grouping of materials which focuses on an individual, group of people, or organization. Materials can include letters, diaries, photographs, scrapbooks, and other memorabilia. Processed Manuscripts are stored in Special Collection's closed stacks and can be requested at the Reference Desk in our Reading Room.
Browse Finding Aids for the Manuscript Collections
Vertical File Manuscripts are single folder collections ranging from one page to 50 pages.
Browse Vertical File Manuscripts
Select VFMs pertaining to the American Revolution include:
GettDigital is an online portal to the digital collections created by Special Collections and College Archives, Gettysburg College. These digital primary sources are a sampling of items housed in Special Collections and College Archives. Our GettDigital Collections support curricular needs, promote College history, and provide online access to a selection of images, videos, documents, and artifacts on a variety of digital platforms.
