Research Guides: International and Global Studies: News and Web Resources

News

The Economist
Published in the UK. Offers reporting, commentary, and analysis on world politics, finance, and business trends. Also covers science and technology, literature and the arts.

Foreign Affairs This link opens in a new window
Provides access to ForeignAffairs.com including the entire digital archives, 1992 to the present. Foreign Affairs is published by the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR), a nonpartisan organization. Articles are written by academics, foreign affairs practitioners, journalists, and other informed writers. The magazine covers a broad range of issues in contemporary international affairs from political, historical, legal, and economic perspectives.

Le Monde
France's leading newspaper, available in French and English.
New York Times
Group pass allowing unlimited online access. Access past articles through MUSCAT.
Wall Street Journal
Group pass allowing unlimited online access. Access past articles through MUSCAT.
The Washington Post
Access news articles from the daily Washington Post. Journalists report on politics, business, world national news, and more. Coverage goes back on a rolling 15 year basis. The library provides site/remote access. Account creation is not necessary.
World News Guide by The Guardian
Guardian.co.uk's country-by-country directory of news and government websites.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from over 10,680 U.S. and international newspapers, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Includes The Gettysburg Times (2008-present) and The Evening Sun (2001-present).
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 200 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 310 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

Bloomberg
Bloomberg offers business and markets news, data, analysis, and videos. It has international editions, including the UK, Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and Africa.
Gapminder
An interactive website designed to fight devastating misconceptions and promote a fact-based worldview everyone can understand. Offers data visualizations, data sets. fact-checked information, and ethnographic information.
International Organization for Migration (IOM)
The IOM conducts and aids data production and research designed to guide and inform migration policy and practice.
Politico
Politico provides coverage on politics and policy in the United States and internationally. It offers international editions, including Europe and Canada.
RealClearWorld
UN Digital Library
Explore speeches, documents, public domain publications, and more from the UN repository.
WorldMapper
A website offering visualizations of comparative global data. Maps can be displayed by region and topic.