Special Collections - Women's History: Books by Women Writers

An autobiographical account of the author's life, from her youth in the rural south to a prominent position among the leading figures of the Harlem Renaissance.

After the Civil War sweeps away the genteel life to which she has been accustomed, Scarlett O'Hara sets about to salvage her plantation home.

An American boy goes to live with his grandfather in England where he becomes heir to a title, estate and fortune.

This first edition, first print printing contains eight short stories by the author.

In 1891, two of Emily Dickinson's friends, T.W. Higginson and Mabel Loomis Todd, edited a three-volume series of poetry written by the reclusive author. Many of the poems found within this collection were discovered after the author's death.

An abolitionist novel depicting the lives of enslaved people in the United States.

This beautifully illustrated collection of children's poetry and nursery rhymes was the first book written and illustrated by Kate Greenaway.

With neither friends nor family, Lucy Snowe sets sail from England to find employment in a girls' boarding school in the small town of Villette. There she struggles to retain her self-possession in the face of unruly pupils, an initially suspicious headmaster, and her own complex feelings, first for the school's English doctor and then for the dictatorial professor, Paul Emmanuel.

Christine Moore Howell operated a beauty salon in Princeton, N.J. She wrote this book for black students who were interested in a career in hair care and cosmetology in America in the 1930s.

The author examines the role of women in society and makes a commentary on her place within it.

This book presents short biographical sketches of women who have served in various capacities on mission fields around the world.

This work examines the life of Mira Lloyd Dock, a Pennsylvania conservationist and Progressive Era reformer. It explores her range of work including forestry, municipal improvement, public health, and woman suffrage.

Articles pertaining to women's suffrage.

This advice book provided emotional support for middle class women of the mid-Nineteenth Century who wished to become more self-sufficient.

A collection of six popular booklets covering the topic of suffrage.

Originally published in 1845, this posthumously published work presents an early argument for female emancipation. It contains essays written by Fuller as well as extracts from her journals and letters.

This book follows eight Vassar girls who, determined not to be like Mother, decide to move with the times and put into action the ideas they have learned about in college.

The author, a suffragette and social activist, writes this novel about the political awakening of a turn-of-the-century southern woman.

This book follows the story of Ishmael, who was born in the depths of poverty, misery, and humiliation and raised to the summit of fame.

Using an ocean voyage as the setting, this novel shows people's lack of understanding of each other.

Collection by Dr. Janet Powers, Professor Emeritus of Interdisciplinary Studies and Women’s Studies at Gettysburg College, Pennsylvania

A collection by Adrienne Rich, an award-winning poet, essayist, feminist, and intellectual of the 20th and 21st centuries.

Sharon Olds writes of giving birth to her daughter, of her son's leaving for summer camp, of a vision of her parents, and of a man attempting to jump from a New York rooftop.