To browse the catalog for materials found in Special Collections, use the search bar to search by keyword or subject heading.
MUSCAT Plus is Musselman Library's online catalog and serves as a tool to help researchers locate materials by keyword, phrase, or subject heading. Manuscript collections, books, pamphlets, maps, and other items in the Special Collections can be found by using the filters in the search bar and on the left side of the screen.
If, for example, you are trying to locate materials pertaining to President Dwight Eisenhower, start typing your keyword into the search bar. As you search, a drop-down list will appear. Choose the Special Collections option. This will give you all of the cataloged items in Special Collections about President Eisenhower.
After you search, use the filters on the left side of the screen to limit your results. Source Types is particularly helpful because it will filter your results to the type of materials you are looking for. For example, if you are looking for a Manuscript Collection, you would select Collection.
Once you find what you are looking for, contact Special Collections and College Archives to schedule a research appointment.
A finding aid is a guide for our Manuscript Collections and includes a description of the contents of the collection, the creator, formats, dates, as well as other useful information. A finding aid will help you locate materials that will be most helpful to you.
The finding aids accessible through Musselman Library will follow the same format. Knowing how to read a finding aid will assist you in identifying what is included in the collection, ensuring that you have the right materials that you need for your research.
This function will allow you to search within LibGuides, Manuscript Collections, Finding Aids, and Databases. To search the library's catalog, use MUSCAT Plus.
(Refresh your browser if you don't see the Search Box)