Skip to main content

Special Collections - Women's History: Home

Quote from Woman in the Nineteenth Century

Quote

"...inward and outward freedom for Woman and for Man shall be acknowledged as a right, not yielded as a concession." - Margaret Fuller

Fuller, Margaret - Woman in the Nineteenth Century, and kindred papers related to the sphere, condition and duties, of woman. Boston: John P. Jewett and Company, 1855, p.37

Special Collections (Rare Books) HQ1154 .O77 1855


Overview

Special Collections collects works by women and about the political status and social conditions for women throughout history. This guide will provide you with a sampling of primary sources housed by Special Collections on the lives and roles of women in history.

Images of women can be found in books, posters, photograph albums, artwork, and other sources in Special Collections. Letters by women can be found in our manuscript collections.

In addition to searching MUSCAT Plus, our Special Collections website, and our GettDigital Collections, please reach out to our Special Collections staff for additional help.

 

Women's History in Special Collections: Suggested Materials

Special Collections maintains a variety of materials a researcher in Women's Studies might want to investigate:

Oral History Collection includes interviews with women on topics such as:

  • Gettysburg College history
  • World War II

Photographs

Manuscript Collections pertaining to Women

Subject Vertical Files

Archives and College Publications that may be of use:

  • Minutes and Publications
    • Woman's League Convention Proceedings (1911-1915)
    • Women's Studies Newsletter, published by the Women's Studies Department (1955-present)
    • Gettysburg, the alumni magazine (1930-present)
    • The Alumni Directory
    • Faculty files including Faculty Meeting Minutes
    • Student Handbook/G-Book
    • Athletic Reports, 1931-present
    • Intercollegiate Athletics Media Guides, 1978-present
  • Gettysburgian
  • Spectrum (LD2001. G405) - (1892-1918 Available Online)
  • Alumni Record of Gettysburg College, 1832-1932 (LD2001. G401 1832-1932)

Researches should also consult the inventories of the Record Groups of President's Papers.

Consult an archivist for assistance with these items.

Search

Search Special Collections and College Archives

 

 

(Refresh your browser if you don't see the Search Box)

Locating Items

Published Materials:

Check MUSCAT Plus.

  • Special Collections stacks are closed. To acquire an item, make a request at the reference desk in the Special Collections Reading Room.
  • Some materials may be found in the main stacks and can circulate.

Non-published Materials:

Include photographs, maps, ephemera, and manuscripts housed in Special Collections.

These items do not circulate and are available only in Special Collections.

Consult an archivist for assistance with non-published materials.