Skip to main content

Special Collections - Gettysburg College History: Home

A guide to the History of Gettysburg College sources found in Special Collections.

Athletics

Baseball Team 1892 

Pennsylvania College

Baseball Team, 1892

GettDigital

 Gettysburg College Digital Collections  
A digital archive featuring materials of intellectual and cultural significance to the Gettysburg College Community: Dance Cards, College FilmsHistoric Photographs, Manuscripts, Music, Sheet MusicOral HistoriesArtifacts & Memorabilia, Publications, and Theatre Arts.

GettDigital Collections

College History in Special Collections: Suggested Materials

Special Collections maintains a variety of materials a researcher in the history of Gettysburg College might want to investigate:

Manuscript Collections pertaining to College History-- these are general documents pertaining to the college. Included are materials such as letters, essays and scorebooks.

Manuscript Collections of College Documents-- these are materials more specific than college history in that they denote an official record or legal document. Included are materials such as building committee reports and treasurer's records.

Oral History Collection -- Includes a full list of interviews with various professors, alumni, and other college personnel. All transcripts are available in the Special Collections Reading Room.  Some interview transcripts are available online.

Photographs -- Albums, Scrapbooks, and Photo Vertical File

College Archives

  • Consult an archivist about possible Record Groups pertaining to your area of inquiry.

Minutes and Publications

Gettysburgian (1897-2010 available online; Loose issues from 2010 to present)

Spectrum (LD2001. G405) -- Available online from 1892 -- 2009

Alumni Record of Gettysburg College, 1832-1932 (LD2001. G401 1832-1932)

College Histories

A Salutary Influence: Gettysburg College, 1832 - 1985, by Charles Glatfelter (Available online)

Miscellaneous Volumes-- includes materials such as faculty grade books, notebooks, and athletic minutes. Most range in date from 1840s - 1950s.

Subject Vertical Files

Consult an archivist for assistance with these items.

Subject Guide

Special Collections Guides's picture
Special Collections Guides
Contact:
Special Collections & College Archives Musselman Library
Gettysburg College
Box 420
300 N. Washington Street
Gettysburg, PA 17325

717-337-7002 Director
717-337-7006 Archivist
Website

Questions?

Ask an Archivist

Special Collections Reading Room Hours

(Musselman Library, 4th Floor)

When classes are in session

Mon, Thurs, Fri : 1 - 5 PM
Tues, Wed : 1 - 5  and 6 - 9 PM

Summer 

Open for exhibits Wed, Thurs, Fri: 1-4 PM

Other times by appointment only

 Special Collections Rules of Use