First Year Seminars: FYS 108 How Change Happens

Provides research and analysis of political issues, news, the American Congress, social trends, elections, international affairs, and more. Subscribed sub-collections include: CQ Almanac, Congress Collection, CQ Magazine, and Voting and Elections Collection. 1923 – present.

Provides articles about more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Updated weekly, with links to a 12-year back-file, Issues and Controversies offers in-depth articles made to inspire thought-provoking debates.

Provides a database of encyclopedias and reference sources for research. Coverage include the Arts, Business, Education, the Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science and Social Science. 2000 – present.

Policy Commons, covering more than 16,000 policy organizations worldwide, provides access more than 7 million full text think-tank publications, including policy reports, administrative documents, books, project and campaign documents, working papers and discussion papers, journal articles, press releases, briefs, and brochures. The platform archives lost or orphan content, with more than 30,000 publications from 350 defunct and inactive policy organizations, along with unique content licensed from a dozen publishers. Includes the 2025 Open Collection, an initiative to rescue content from government organizations experiencing the removal of public information and data (click Policy Commons database link, then click Modules link at top to access Open Collection).

Access tables, maps, and datasets from the US Census Bureau. The earliest data begins with the 2000 Census. Includes data that was included in the American FactFinder.

A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Begins with the 2013 edition.

MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.

Provides access to thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. Content covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.

Provides abstracts of materials from professional journals, major news magazines and books devoted to international politics and political analysis, 1975-present.

Provides citations and abstracts of journals, books and dissertations in economics literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature, EconLit covers both economic theory and application and indexes over 1,000 journals. 1969 – present.

Collection of legal history and government documents, including 2,400 law-related periodicals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, and U.S. Reports back to 1754. Contains all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.

Provides coverage of 1,700 titles going back to the 1940s in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine science, geography, pollution & waste management, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

Provides citations to health and biology articles from 1966-present.