Research Guides: First Year Seminars: FYS 187 Food, Identity, and Conflict

Campus Food Policy Research

Nanu, Luana, Imran Rahman, Mark Traynor, and Lisa Cain. “Something to Chew on: Assessing What Students Want from Campus Dining Services.” Young Consumers 25, no. 6 (2024): 748–70. https://doi.org/10.1108/YC-02-2024-1979.

Franzidis, Alexia F, Steven M Zinder, and Olivia Backston. “An Analysis of Students’ Attitudes and Behaviors Toward on-Campus Sustainable Dining Initiatives.” International Journal of Sustainability in Higher Education 24, no. 7 (2023): 1524–39. https://doi.org/10.1108/IJSHE-02-2022-0034.
Costello, Christine, Esma Birisci, and Ronald G McGarvey. “Food Waste in Campus Dining Operations: Inventory of Pre- and Post-Consumer Mass by Food Category, and Estimation of Embodied Greenhouse Gas Emissions.” Renewable Agriculture and Food Systems 31, no. 3 (2016): 191–201. https://doi.org/10.1017/S1742170515000071.
Hallman, Jessica. "Feeding a Community: How One Student is Turning Food Waste into Donated Meals." Penn State University. September 25, 2024. https://www.psu.edu/news/campus-life/story/feeding-community-how-one-student-turning-food-waste-donated-meals.

Salazar. “Public Schools, Private Foods: Mexicano Memories of Culture and Conflict in American School Cafeterias.” Food and Foodways. 15, no. 3–4 (2007): 153–81. https://doi.org/10.1080/07409710701620078.

Searching at Musselman Library

MUSCAT Plus
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.

Databases - A-Z
An A-Z listing of all library databases by name or type of database (newspapers, images, etc.)
Research Guides
Research guides to databases and other resources for each discipline at Gettysburg College

Finding Articles

When choosing which database to use, keep in mind the multidisciplinary nature of your topic, and select databases accordingly. You may want to visit other discipline specific research guides for database recommendations... or talk with a librarian!

ProQuest Central Premium

Provides access to thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. Content covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.
JSTOR
Provides access to content across all disciplines. Search or browse books, journals, images, and primary sources.
Sociological Abstracts
Provides citations to sociology, social work, & other social sciences articles from 1963-present. Indexes over 5,300 journals. Coverage: 1952 - current.

Anthropology of food
An open access multilingual academic journal dedicated to the social sciences of food.
Food & Foodways
A journal of particular interest to this class.

Citing Sources

cite it! written on lined 3 by 5 notecard For this class you can use whatever citation style you are comfortable with - just make sure you are using it consistently and correctly.

Musselman Library has a great Citation Guide with links to online guides for the citation styles commonly used at Gettysburg College. There is also information on how to create an account with Zotero, a freely available citation management tool.

If you're not sure how to cite something properly, just stop by the Desk on the main floor, ask via online chat, or send an email to ask@gettysburg.edu. It can get confusing; we're happy to help!