Research Guides: First Year Seminars: FYS 191 Through the Wardrobe

Searching at Musselman Library

MUSCAT Plus
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.

Databases - A-Z
An A-Z listing of all library databases by name or type of database (newspapers, images, etc.)
Research Guides
Research guides to databases and other resources for each discipline at Gettysburg College

Background Information

Scholarly Encyclopedias

Gale Reference eBooks
Provides a database of encyclopedias and reference sources for research. Coverage include the Arts, Business, Education, the Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science and Social Science. 2000 – present.
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

International Encyclopedia of the First World War
For background information on WWI, this will be an excellent place to start. This publicly accessible encyclopedia includes entries written by international scholars. The timelines and maps are detailed and helpful.

Finding Books and Journal Articles

Muscat Plus

MUSCAT Plus
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.

To see have more options and see all results, sign in before searching.

Interdisciplinary

ProQuest Central
Provides access to thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. Content covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.
JSTOR
Provides access to content across all disciplines. Search or browse books, journals, images, and primary sources.

History

America: History and Life with Full Text
Provides citations to articles on American and Canadian history. Articles date from 1964 – present. Includes some full-text links.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Provides citations to world history articles, book chapters, books, and more on topics dating from 1450-present. Coverage excludes U.S. and Canada. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals are indexed. Years of coverage: 1954-present.

Literary Analysis

Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
MLA International Bibliography
Covers literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Over 6,000 journals and series, plus 1,200 book publishers, are indexed. Articles date from 1926-present.

Keyword to Subject Headings in Muscat

Once you have done a keyword search and find a book that looks helpful, scroll to the bottom of the Muscat Plus record. You'll see subjects, or tags, for different events, time periods, people, or types of content. Using these can save you a lot of time.
Either click on the subject itself to get everything else we have with that subject or use some of the terms for a new keyword search.

The following terms from subject headings can be helpful to find primary source material:

diaries

correspondence

sources

documents

biographies

photographs

cartoons

posters

pictorial works

personal narratives

interviews

anecdotes

underground literature

Subject Heading Examples for Primary Sources

Keyword Searches Examples

"World War I" AND documents
"First World War" AND "trench journals"
"World War 1914" AND "personal narratives" AND nurse

Library Subscription

First World War: Personal Experiences; Propaganda and Recruitment; Visual Perspectives and Narratives
The Personal Experiences content provides a window on the lives and experiences of men and women during the First World War and includes letters and diaries, scrapbooks, photos, sketches, and more. The Propaganda and Recruitment material provides insight into public opinion and censorship, recruitment, morale at home and on the front line, etc. Documents include posters, postcards, photos, newsletters, leaflets and more. The Visual Perspectives and Narratives section provides access to unique resources such as official and personal photographs, manuscripts, rare printed material, artwork, objects and film.

Public Digital Collections

The sites below are only a small collection of major, free digital collections.

The International Encyclopedia of the First World War maintains a large list of other websites, which can be viewed by theme or geographic region.

Imperial War Museum - Digital Collections
Note that you can filter your results by "Subject Period."
Library of Congress - Digital Collections
The Library of Congress collections include a huge amount of materials--including photographs, sound recordings, sheet music, etc.

First Year Seminars: FYS 191 Through the Wardrobe

Ask a Librarian

Citations