Library Services & Resources for Gettysburg College Staff: Home

Make Musselman Library your lunchtime -- or anytime -- destination! All Gettysburg College employees have access to Musselman Library's print and electronic resources. View the library's hours or read about our borrowing policies. 

Books

Looking for something fun to read? Visit the Browsing Room on the library's Main Level to check out the latest in popular fiction and non-fiction. Or visit our stacks (located on the Lower Level, and on Levels 2 and 3) to check out any book in our collection using your College ID. You can also use the library's catalog, MUSCAT Plus, to find items and then request them using our Muss-To-Go service:  

Musselman-To-Go

Save yourself time and trouble by requesting items and letting us pull them for you. We'll check your requests out to you and put them on the Muss-To-Go shelf near the Check Out desk.  You'll get an email when your items are ready for pickup-- you can just grab and go! Here’s how to do it:

1. Find the book or DVD you want using MUSCAT Plus.
2. Sign in to your library account.
3. Click the “Get library copy” button, then "Send Request".
4. Wait to receive an email saying that the item(s) are ready for pick up.
5. Your items will be on the blue Muss-To-Go shelves just beyond the Check Out desk.  The items on these shelves are in alphabetical order by patron last name. Items will already be checked out to you.  

Films

The library has a DVD collection--browse the collection on the Lower Level of the library or search for specific titles in MUSCAT Plus. View our recent adds to the DVD collection.

We also subscribe to streaming video databases accessible on campus or remotely using your network login. The Films Online guide provides descriptions and links to online streaming resources.

All films from streaming platforms have been loaded into MUSCAT Plus, the library's catalog, for your searching pleasure. To pick out the streaming option from your search results, look for the "Available Online" link below the title in your results. 

Magazines & Newspapers

Visit our Browsing Periodicals section located to the right of the main entrance on the Main Level of the library to see the latest issues of popular magazines. If you don't have time to physically visit the library, you can still search and access many of the publications the library subscribes to online, such as Consumer Reports. Or view and download entire issues of magazines via Flipster. View newspapers online as well; we have the Gettysburgian from 1897 to 2010 and the Gettysburg Times from 1909 to 1 month ago. Search for a journal or magazine title using our Find a Journal feature in MUSCAT Plus. If you have any questions, just ask a librarian!

OverDrive

OverDrive provides access to a selection of popular fiction and nonfiction ebook titles.

It is compatible with Kindle and other e-readers, as well as a variety of mobile and non-mobile devices, using Libby app.  

Learn more about OverDrive at Gettysburg College.

More Ebooks

For academic, research-oriented ebooks, browse Proquest Ebook Central, or do an advanced search in MUSCAT Plus and limit your results to "Available Online." 

Find out more about our ebook collections.

New York Times

Gettysburg College employees have unlimited access to NYTimes.com content from 1981-present.

FIRST TIME USERS: 

1. Go to accessnyt.com   
2. Search for Gettysburg College (you will be directed to the NYT welcome page)
3. Click the Create  Account button. Be sure to use your @gettysburg.edu email address when creating your account.
4. Click the black Create Account button. You are ready to start accessing content at NYTimes.com.

Visit the NYTimes Group Pass FAQ page for more details.

Wall Street Journal

Gettysburg College also has unlimited access to WSJ.com:

First Time Users:

1. Go to https://partner.wsj.com/partner/gettysburgcollege.
2. Log in with your Gettysburg username and password.
3. You'll be redirected back to WSJ to finish creating your account (IT recommends you do not use your Gettysburg password when creating external accounts.)
4. Your new account can be used through the Wall Street Journal app, or at WSJ.com. 

Visit our Wall Street Journal FAQ page for more details. 

Washington Post

Gettysburg College has access to the daily Washington Post (coverage back 15 years).

• Unlike the New York Times Group Pass or the Wall Street Journal, you do NOT need to create an account. Just access the title through MUSCAT Plus or the A-Z Database page.
• Note: Please ignore the retail ads, the sign-in button, and subscription buttons/banners. Our subscription does not allow us to remove these.

Visit our Washington Post FAQ page for more details.

More Newspapers

Looking for other newspapers online? Visit our News Resource Guide to search for newspapers in our many databases. Or, you can search for a newspaper by title in the Find a Journal feature of MUSCAT Plus. 

Have you been planning for years to research your family's genealogy but didn't know where to start?  Try a search on Ancestry Library Edition. For some tips on how to navigate Ancestry, visit the Ancestry Library Edition guide.

Was your family in the military? Search military records on Fold3. The Fold3 Library Edition guide has lots of tips and information about using this resource.

Now is the time to document your family history.  Let us help by providing the resources you need.  Musselman Library also subscribes to newspaper databases that could help; view the many published sources here: News Sources.